How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
no_vice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:23 pm

How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by no_vice » Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:26 pm

I just copied all the files from the sub-domain to the root directory. All the pages are displaying fine, except that when I click on the menu item "Home Page", it displays 404 error.

I am a Joomla beginner.

User avatar
bruno28
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 169
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 5:41 am
Location: Chartres, France
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by bruno28 » Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:41 pm

no_vice wrote:
Wed Jul 17, 2019 12:26 pm
I just copied all the files from the sub-domain to the root directory. All the pages are displaying fine, except that when I click on the menu item "Home Page", it displays 404 error.

I am a Joomla beginner.
Hello no_vice

I think you have to see with your host to change the folder where your domain name point to

Bruno

brendanhedges
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by brendanhedges » Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:47 pm

Hello,
when moving from one folder to another there are many things that can go wrong just by copy/paste.

It's far better to backup your Joomla with aceeba in the subdomain and install it into your new folder (/root) wherever that may be.

When you use aceeba it takes care of the config file for you, the temp file and log files, it also deals with any menu problems that you may face.

And, to be honest, it's just as quick as normally there are no problems after.

A point worth remembering is that often your htacess file will cause problems when you move from one host/site/folder to another. If you use acceba you have the option to use a fresh htaccess file in the backup/install process.

no_vice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:23 pm

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by no_vice » Thu Jul 18, 2019 4:47 pm

brendanhedges wrote:
Wed Jul 17, 2019 3:47 pm
Hello,
when moving from one folder to another there are many things that can go wrong just by copy/paste.

It's far better to backup your Joomla with aceeba in the subdomain and install it into your new folder (/root) wherever that may be.

When you use aceeba it takes care of the config file for you, the temp file and log files, it also deals with any menu problems that you may face.

And, to be honest, it's just as quick as normally there are no problems after.

A point worth remembering is that often your htacess file will cause problems when you move from one host/site/folder to another. If you use acceba you have the option to use a fresh htaccess file in the backup/install process.
Thanks. Couple of questions.

i) When migrating, I am assuming that acceba will ask me whether I want to use a fresh htaccess. I should reply to this question as "yes". Is this correct?

ii) What about the admin panel? Currently, my admin panel is www.oldsite.com/administrator. Now, when I move my site to the domain www.newsite.com, will the admin panel also automatically change to www.newsite.com/administrator (with userid and password remaining the same)?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37259
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by Webdongle » Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:26 pm

Two methods
1. (The simplest) In your Host's cp tell the domain that the folder (Joomla is in) is the root.
2. https://docs.joomla.org/Moving_the_site ... irectories
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

brendanhedges
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by brendanhedges » Thu Jul 18, 2019 7:01 pm

Thanks. Couple of questions.

i) When migrating, I am assuming that acceba will ask me whether I want to use a fresh htaccess. I should reply to this question as "yes". Is this correct?

ii) What about the admin panel? Currently, my admin panel is www.oldsite.com/administrator. Now, when I move my site to the domain www.newsite.com, will the admin panel also automatically change to www.newsite.com/administrator (with userid and password remaining the same)?

1) There is a tick box for this, I can't remember on what screen exactly, but it is obvious.

2) This will happen automatically. When you use Aceeba to transfer a site you will be given an opportunity to enter new credentials if you want to, if you leave the pw field empty, it will retain your current pw.

read the instructions for aceeba, it's easy to use, but you will have to download an additional package from their site called 'kickstart' From that folder you will need to select the 2 js files and the kickstart.php file, then upload them to the root folder where your new site will reside. If you install Aceeba on your current site and leave the settings on their default settings, once you have run the backup process you will find the backup file in your root file system /administrator/components/com_akeeba/backup/backup.jpa move this file to the root of your new site with the other 3 files. Then from a browser enter www.newsite.com/kickstart.php and follow the instructions.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37259
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by Webdongle » Thu Jul 18, 2019 8:03 pm

If you use Akeeba that might confuse things when moving from one folder to another. Easiest is to use your Host's cp to define the folder as root for the domain.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

brendanhedges
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by brendanhedges » Thu Jul 18, 2019 8:23 pm

Webdongle wrote:
Thu Jul 18, 2019 8:03 pm
If you use Akeeba that might confuse things when moving from one folder to another. Easiest is to use your Host's cp to define the folder as root for the domain.
I've never done that. What about if the OP has more than 1 website hosted on his package? Redefining the root folder could affect any addon or subdomains.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 7499
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by sozzled » Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:10 pm

That's how I've always done this. Separate the websites into individual folders (not as nested folders) and point the domain name (or subdomain name) to the specific folder.

See (for examples of this) also:
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

brendanhedges
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by brendanhedges » Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:27 pm

@Sozzled

To widen the issues a little further...
A while ago my Arvixe Hosting account suddenly changed (policy change) it went from the format
public_html/mainsite and addon domains were public_html/siteone, public_html/sitetwo etc
to
/public_html/mainsite
/siteone
/sitetwo
ie the addon domains are below the public html folder, and only the first 'main' domain is held within the public_html folder.

I have an A2 account as well that follows this same format.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 7499
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by sozzled » Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:29 pm

Oh well ... different horses for different courses, I guess. Fortunately, I use a webhost that allows me the flexibility to choose what I want.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37259
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by Webdongle » Thu Jul 18, 2019 9:47 pm

Very rare for Host's to change the structure. As you can have multiple domain names per contract then you can define the folder for each domain.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

no_vice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:23 pm

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by no_vice » Sun Jul 21, 2019 5:27 pm

Hi! I am not making any progress with this.

The scenario is that I want to transfer from www.oldsite.com to www.newsite.com.

Currently, www.oldsite.com resides in public_html/oldsite folder. So, basically, oldsite is an add-on domain for me.

www.newsite.com is my main domain (and hence, I believe, it is in public_html folder).

Both oldsite and newsite are on the same host (GoDaddy server).

Now, when I use Akeeba backup to restore www.oldsite.com to www.newsite.com, it asks for various details of the new site. I provide the following details:

URL of new site: www.newsite.com
FTP/SFTP Directory: public_html

Apart from this, it asks me FTP details (username, password etc.)

After entering the details, when I click of "Proceed with restoration", acceba gives this (threatening) message:

You have entered the connection information to the site you are transfering from. Your mistake would have deleted your own site. You need to enter the FTP/SFTP connection information to the site you are transferring to (new site or new server).

Can someone explain the issue.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37259
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by Webdongle » Sun Jul 21, 2019 7:26 pm

The problem is your misunderstanding of folder structure. You need to 'Point' the www.newdomain.com to the folder that has the Joomla site.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

no_vice
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2014 12:23 pm

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by no_vice » Mon Jul 22, 2019 1:42 pm

Was able to do the restoration successfully. Wanted to thank all members for their useful advice.

The main problem was that I was erroneously using Akeeba backup's "Site Transfer Wizard" (available in Akeeba backup Control Panel) for performing the site transfer. That didn't work.

What I ultimately used successfully, was this video tutorial:

https://www.akeebabackup.com/videos/121 ... erver.html

brendanhedges
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 115
Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 1:28 am
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by brendanhedges » Tue Jul 23, 2019 6:07 pm

Glad you managed to get it sorted :)

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19602
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: How to move my Joomla website from a sub-domain to the root domain on same server

Post by leolam » Tue Jul 23, 2019 7:07 pm

For all here in this thread that write it wrong...It is the award winning Akeebabackup

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”