Mixed Content Errors

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
shortyyz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:28 am

Mixed Content Errors

Post by shortyyz » Tue Sep 29, 2020 8:31 am

Hi
I am getting multiple Mixed Content errors on https: site. Referencing
http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jq ... ery.min.js

How can i change the requested link(s) to https.
Thanks

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22806
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by pe7er » Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:17 am

You've to find the extension that retrieves that external URL and change the http into https.
My first guess it your site's template.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

shortyyz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:28 am

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by shortyyz » Tue Sep 29, 2020 10:25 am

Hi
This is happening on all links referencing JQuery. Is there another solution?

shortyyz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:28 am

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by shortyyz » Tue Sep 29, 2020 2:10 pm

<script src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jq ... "></script>
<script src="/media/jui/js/jquery.min.js?13829d068d406dcc1cb61c5859fbb946"></script>
<script src="/media/jui/js/jquery-noconflict.js?13829d068d406dcc1cb61c5859fbb946"></script>
<script src="/media/jui/js/jquery-migrate.min.js?13829d068d406dcc1cb61c5859fbb946"></script>
I see the http: reference in the article source code.
But i cannot access it in the editor!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39129
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by Webdongle » Tue Sep 29, 2020 2:16 pm

pe7er wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:17 am
...
My first guess it your site's template.
Yep Template's index.php references

Code: Select all

http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.1/jquery.min.js%22%3E%3C/script
Change to

Code: Select all

https://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/jquery/1.8.1/jquery.min.js%22%3E%3C/script
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.

shortyyz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:28 am

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by shortyyz » Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:18 pm

Hi
I am looking at index.php in the Protostar directory and i cannot see the reference?

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9724
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by sozzled » Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:51 pm

The stock-standard, vanilla-flavoured, out-of-the-box J! 3.9.21 installation using Protostar does not include a references to jQuery 1.8.1. The standard installation of J! 3.9.21 loads jQuery 1.12.4 (see https://docs.joomla.org/J3.x:Javascript_Frameworks).

jQuery is loaded (in J! 3.9.21) by ../templates/protostar/component.php.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

shortyyz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:28 am

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by shortyyz » Tue Sep 29, 2020 9:06 pm

Thank You Sozzled! The problem is i can see the above http: reference in the sourcecode of the article page in Firefox debugger but
i cannot see it in any of the aforementioned .php files in any of my Protostar directories.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9724
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by sozzled » Tue Sep 29, 2020 10:04 pm

As I wrote, in a vanilla-flavoured, out-of-the-box J! 3.9.21 website, Protostar does not load jQuery 1.8.1 from Google; you probably have a third-party extension that loads this Javascript library. J! 3.9.21 comes with jQuery 1.12.4.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

shortyyz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:28 am

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by shortyyz » Tue Sep 29, 2020 10:20 pm

Thanks...i have been chasing the wrong rabbit all day.

shortyyz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Sep 25, 2020 10:28 am

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by shortyyz » Tue Sep 29, 2020 10:58 pm

Great! If i remove all items off the page all my Jquery faults disappear. I think current version of Joomla has a problem dealing with Jquery. Multiple resourcedevelopers cannot be wrong. I think someone should check it out.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 9724
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by sozzled » Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:18 pm

The current version of J! does not have problems "dealing with jQuery", AFAIK. Your web-browser has a problem dealing with the version of jQuery that you are using, sourced from Google, referencing a non-secure location (i.e. http:// instead of https://). All you have to do is find which of those third-party extensions you're using that references http:// instead of https://, fix it/them, and you will overcome the "mixed content error" displayed by your web browser.

I don't know which of those "resource developers" you are referring to, and I couldn't say whether they're right or wrong, but I do know a thing or two about mixed content errors and how to find them. However, I don't know anything about your website, which extensions you have installed, or how you are using them.

The first sentence of what @pe7er wrote was correct. The second sentence of what he wrote was a guess and it turned out to be wrong. C'est la vie. I don't think @Webdongle was able to narrow down the source of how your website loads the jQuery library you're using. Again, it was a good guess but it, too, turned out to be wrong.

Simple, yes? ;)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
“If you think I’m wrong then say, ‘I think you’re wrong.’ If you say ‘You’re wrong!’, how do you know?” :)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 39129
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Mixed Content Errors

Post by Webdongle » Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:32 pm

shortyyz wrote:
Tue Sep 29, 2020 7:18 pm
Hi
I am looking at index.php in the Protostar directory and i cannot see the reference?
As you use Protostar then it is not coming from the Template. url of your site please.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”