Move staging site to live site

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Post Reply
glen4cindy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2020 5:20 pm

Move staging site to live site

Post by glen4cindy » Sun Sep 26, 2021 3:50 pm

I've been working on our staging site for quite a while and I think I am finally ready to move this to our live site.

Our main site is currently using WordPress and the staging site is set up as a subdomain on the same host. I'm not sure if that makes things any easier or not.

I have Akeeba backup installed and have been using it just in case I royally mess things up.

How do I move the entire staging site and make that our main live site?

Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 40366
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Move staging site to live site

Post by Webdongle » Sun Sep 26, 2021 4:59 pm

Keep your backups safe locally. Also (if possible) test the backup locally on your PC using Wamp virtual Host.

Delete wp
Then you have three possibilities.
  1. If your Hosting package allows ... point the Domain name to the folder that has Joomla
    or
  2. https://docs.joomla.org/Moving_the_site ... irectories
    or (not the easiest
    Use kickstart to unpack the jpa file to the empty root then when the installer runs keep the same database and don't populate it.
My preference would be #2
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”