3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
PatFinegan
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:02 am
Location: NYC

3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by PatFinegan » Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:02 am

I upgraded today from Joomla 3.2 to 3.2.1 and noticed something curious. The character 0 appeared just outside and to the right of my Search box. It wasn't there before. I thought perhaps it was a hit counter but the number didn't rise when I searched and found something, so I am stumped. I have attached a screen shot from our website, http://thescny.org. I would be grateful for any insights or suggestions. Thank you in advance for your help.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 35190
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Webdongle » Thu Dec 19, 2013 2:15 am

Please view with Protostar as default Template
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

isourceit
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Sep 08, 2012 4:59 am

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by isourceit » Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:34 am

I have the same problem. I am using a GavickPro template which was fine with J3.2.0.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 35190
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Webdongle » Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:55 am

@isourceit

Try with Protostar as default
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

Potus001
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Potus001 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:16 am

Webdongle wrote:Please view with Protostar as default Template
I'm getting the same problem. Created my template using Artisteer.

Changing the template is not going to help.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 35190
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Webdongle » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:35 am

Potus001 wrote:....
I'm getting the same problem. Created my template using Artisteer.

Changing the template is not going to help.
If you do not know what the problem is then you can not know the result if you set the default Template to Protostar.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

vaggos
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:49 am

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by vaggos » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:41 am

Same problem here. Template News fron Gavick. With Protostar not have this issue.

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11715
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by brian » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:50 am

I spotted the same thing but have not had time to debug it. It is related to the show/ hide search button option for the search module though as it only happens when you have the button enabled
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

vaggos
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Sep 18, 2008 7:49 am

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by vaggos » Fri Dec 20, 2013 9:52 am

in my case search button is disable.

User avatar
brian
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 11715
Joined: Fri Aug 12, 2005 7:19 am
Location: Leeds, UK
Contact:

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by brian » Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:02 am

Maybe my memory is wrong, I'm not near the computer, and it was the other way around and the 0 disappears when the button is enabled.
"Exploited yesterday... Hacked tomorrow"
Blog http://brian.teeman.net/
Joomla Hidden Secrets http://hiddenjoomlasecrets.com/

Potus001
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Potus001 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:05 am

Mine's disabled as well.

surfsimon
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by surfsimon » Fri Dec 20, 2013 10:34 am

Same issue here, in a Gavick template. Played with all settings, but used CSS for now to hide it.
The ultimate SEO checklist: http://joomlaseo.com/

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 35190
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Webdongle » Fri Dec 20, 2013 11:50 am

surfsimon wrote:...but used CSS for now to hide it.
What did you change in the css ?

@Brian
What Template are you seeing it in ? I am unable to reproduce the error with Protostar.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

surfsimon
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by surfsimon » Fri Dec 20, 2013 12:07 pm

I restored my site on localhost and changed it to use Protostar. The issue is gone then.
I then thought it might be in the template overrides for the Gavick template, but removing the override did not fix it. The CSS I used is specific for my template, I just set the font-size to 0.
The ultimate SEO checklist: http://joomlaseo.com/

foof132
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Thu Aug 10, 2006 9:09 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by foof132 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 3:22 pm

Go to the mod_search folder and open mod_search.php

Comment out line 28 by changing:

Code: Select all

$button			= $params->get('button', 0);
To:

Code: Select all

// $button			= $params->get('button', 0);
------------------------------------------

Update: If the template is using the T3 framework, updating the plugin to v2.0.2 fixes the issue ... no modification of the php file required.

Potus001
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Potus001 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 4:39 pm

Seems to have worked for me.

Thanks a lot for your assistance.

stevec4
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 65
Joined: Mon Jul 29, 2013 11:46 am

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by stevec4 » Fri Dec 20, 2013 7:59 pm

Try changing that line to this and see if it works before you comment it out

Code: Select all

$button         = $params->get('button', '0');
add the ' ' around the 0

Steve

User avatar
PatFinegan
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:02 am
Location: NYC

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by PatFinegan » Sat Dec 21, 2013 4:10 pm

stevec4 wrote:Try changing that line to this and see if it works before you comment it out
No, you have to comment the entire line out. Thank you, everyone, for chiming in. I REALLY appreciate your help. You are GREAT! There is absolutely no way I could have persuaded a 150-year old organization to abandon its template just because I couldn't get rid of an errant "0".

User avatar
Per Yngve Berg
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 24728
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2008 9:27 pm
Location: Akershus, Norway

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Per Yngve Berg » Sun Dec 22, 2013 8:04 am

Does this help?

Code: Select all

$button         = $params->get('button', '');

User avatar
PatFinegan
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:02 am
Location: NYC

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by PatFinegan » Sun Dec 22, 2013 4:52 pm

Sorry, no. Only deleting the line entirely seems to work.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 35190
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by Webdongle » Sun Dec 22, 2013 5:48 pm

PatFinegan wrote:... Only deleting the line entirely seems to work.
Commenting out a line of code is often better than deleting it.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
PatFinegan
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:02 am
Location: NYC

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by PatFinegan » Mon Dec 23, 2013 3:04 am

You are of course correct. I did indeed comment the line out. I used the word "delete" figuratively. I apologize. I should have been clearer.

ukphotoguy
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 19, 2008 5:12 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by ukphotoguy » Sat Dec 28, 2013 4:56 pm

If it helps anybody until we all have time for a real fix, I changed the color of the offending 0 to the background, let me keep the search functionality without much effort.
in my case with a gavick templaye I added #gkSearch {color: #EFEADF;}

jasethemarino
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:33 am

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by jasethemarino » Tue Dec 31, 2013 6:19 pm

I have the same issue using Helix II template from Joomshaper. I've commented out line 28 for now but it will be great to see the proper resolution when it gets sorted.
Cheers

vvujke
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri May 04, 2007 2:13 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by vvujke » Fri Jan 17, 2014 6:54 am

change

Code: Select all

$set_Itemid		= (int) $params->get('set_itemid', 0);
to

Code: Select all

$set_Itemid		= (int) $params->get('set_itemid', '0');

ayurvedicplants
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:49 pm
Location: India
Contact:

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by ayurvedicplants » Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:24 am

PatFinegan wrote:Sorry, no. Only deleting the line entirely seems to work.
sir, i am faced same problem, changing the code not worked for me. then i go to module manager, opened the search module. i changed the 'Search Button' in to show, - plz not , not the Search Button Image- , after that i hide the show title , to make the search box simple. that is worked for me..

ayurvedicplants
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 11, 2014 4:49 pm
Location: India
Contact:

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by ayurvedicplants » Thu Jun 12, 2014 4:25 am

i faced same problem, changing the code not worked for me. then i go to module manager, opened the search module. i changed the 'Search Button' in to show, - plz not , not the Search Button Image- , after that i hide the show title , to make the search box simple. that is worked for me.

surfsimon
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jun 07, 2010 8:54 am
Contact:

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by surfsimon » Wed Jun 18, 2014 10:12 am

I just noticed that upgrading to 3.3.1 the problem is solved :)
The ultimate SEO checklist: http://joomlaseo.com/

User avatar
PatFinegan
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2005 2:02 am
Location: NYC

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by PatFinegan » Wed Jun 18, 2014 1:54 pm

Not for me. I still had to comment out the line for the JSN Boot Pro template.

OLSA
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2012 4:09 pm

Re: 3.2.1 upgrade puts a "0" at end of Search field

Post by OLSA » Thu Oct 09, 2014 5:54 pm

Same problem for me on 3.3.6.
Here I write solution (template overide, default.php), very simple.

regards


Locked

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”