JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Fri Aug 15, 2014 3:47 pm

This week I updated all of my sites to Joomla! version 3.3.3 and everything went fine with the install until I checked one site today and saw this - see screenshot.png attachment. The toolbar is missing and that is all that I can see!

This is the troubleshooting I've done so far:

TinyMCE, CodeMirror & Editor-None editors all appear fine and work properly.
  • I've checked the site in Chrome, I.E. & Firefox and they all look the same, except sans the JCE toolbar window.

    I refreshed my Joomla cache, deleted expired purged cache and browser cache in all my browsers. Did a system restart twice too.

    I made sure that the plugin was turned on in the plug-in manager and that the SuperUser option was selected under the Default User component settings.

    Under Global Config, the Default Editor was set for JCE.

    I've installed & uninstalled the JCE component & plugin twice with same results.
After reading what I could find on the JCE forums, I made sure that these folders were removed between installs:
  • administrator/components/com_jce
    components/com_jce
    plugins/editors/jce
    plugins/quickicon/jcefilebrowser
    media/jce
and they were all removed and re-added during installation/uninstallation.
  • I also checked my database in the extensions table, to try and find and remove all entries where the "element" field contains "jce". There were no entries that had that extension so I'm assuming the database is correct.
The only issue I saw with both installs was this - see extension attachment - but it's appearing in an green message box so I'm assuming it's alright. I have received no other error message or have no other notification of what that could actually mean.

I hope someone can point me in the right direction so I can get this resolved quickly. I'm at a loss.

I appreciate any and all responses. Thanks!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Fri Aug 15, 2014 5:45 pm

I've also deleted the profiles in the component and recreated them and still no toolbar...
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Fri Aug 15, 2014 6:19 pm

Looking further into this, I compared the stylesheets from two of my Joomla sites, one that has a working JCE Editor and the broken one. I noticed that I'm missing several stylesheets that the working Editor has but the broken one does not. I verified that the css files DO APPEAR where they should in my Joomla! instances but apparently the links to them are broken somehow.

If these css links are broken, I would think installing and re-installing the component & plugin would correct it but it hasn't.

I'm losing my mind here but I believe I'm getting closer...closer to finding another editor tool! :p I have a feeling I may have to reinstall the entire site to get this to work which I hope it does not come to that...

Hoping from some feedback from someone who has had similar issues with this.
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
sheiksumon
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 6:08 am
Location: Dhaka,Bangladesh
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by sheiksumon » Wed Sep 10, 2014 11:48 am

jce-problem-joomla333.png
Hey i have same problem facing. uninstall and reinstall but not solved this problem.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Salekuddin Sheikh Sumon
Joomla Developer

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 12:08 pm

Yep, that's it! Exactly the same. Weird.

Still have not figured it out. At some point I'm going to reinstall. Was hoping for an answer here on the board. Oh well...
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
pe7er
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 22225
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2005 8:55 pm
Location: Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by pe7er » Wed Sep 10, 2014 12:26 pm

I just did a test to see if it's JavaScript related:
I created a new article, disabled JavaScript in my browser & reloaded.
Result: the editor text area is empty & JCE button bar is missing!

However, the buttons on the right side of the editor are not working either.
In my screenshot you'll notice that the "featured" parameter is not green,
in your screenshot it is working.

I suppose that JavaScript is working in your browser,
but there might be an error with the JavaScript of JCE Editor.
Could you see any JavaScript errors on your page (with Edit article)?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Kind Regards,
Peter Martin, Global Moderator
https://db8.nl - Joomla specialist, Nijmegen, Nederland
Co-developer of d2 Content https://data2site.com/joomla-extensions/d2-content

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Wed Sep 10, 2014 1:29 pm

I get no errors at all. It's just weird.
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
amymattian
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:09 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by amymattian » Mon Oct 20, 2014 9:52 am

Hi,

I got the same problem after upgrading the site to Joomla 3.x. Problem is on both backend and frontend. I've reinstalled the JCE Editor but no affect!

However I have the RSBlog component on the site and with RSBLog the JCE Editor IS SHOWING. SO the problem is only on the side of the Joomla (articles), both frontend and backend.

I have checked my JCE Editor settings and there I've chosen ALL COMPONENTS! This should include both RSBlog and Joomla articles. But in the joomla articles no JCE Editor... :'(

- Anne
http://www.kotisivutohtori.fi/
Website Doctor to the rescue...

User avatar
amymattian
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Aug 12, 2009 5:09 pm
Location: Helsinki
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by amymattian » Mon Oct 20, 2014 10:09 am

Hi,

another thing I noticed, the editor IS SHOWN in the Joomla MODULES. But not in the Joomla ARTICLES!

- Anne
http://www.kotisivutohtori.fi/
Website Doctor to the rescue...

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:45 am

Sorry amymattian, no responses and I have yet to get it figured out. Will probably do an entire re-install at some point to hopefully correct this...
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:49 am

Try updating Joomla to 3.3.6
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 11:53 am

Already did. JCE is still not working on just the one site. All of my other sites are fine...
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:00 pm

Are all the sites on the same server ?
Is JCE set up EXACTLY the same on all sites ?
On the site it's not working is there a 3rd party extension that is not common to the other sites ?
On the site it's not working try using Protostar as default front end Template.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:31 pm

They were on the same server at the time this occurred.

JCE is the standard installation for all sites.

All the same extensions - I'm a minimalist, less is better. Same gantry framework
template that I've customized.

Switching templates did nothing as well.

This may be the greatest question ever told! It's almost comical at this point.
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:52 pm

Spot the difference :D

Different version history ? i.e. they started as different versions.
Different update policy ? i.e. you updated some more frequently than others ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19661
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by leolam » Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:02 pm

What is the installed JCE-Editor where you face the issues? Works flawless on all our own and client sites without problem reports with J3.3.6 or latest JCE?

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:23 pm

I'm running the latest JCE editor (2.4.3) on Joomla 3.3.6. All my sites were updated at the same time and all instance of JCE work except for one. Did you see my earlier posts and screenshots?
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Mon Oct 20, 2014 6:41 pm

Given that
All the sites started as the same version
Were all updated incrementally
All the 3rd party extensions are up to date

Then
The site that JCE is not working on has something different to the other sites
Or
You have a cache issue.
Or
Something has been copy/pasted from MSword or similar.

Clear all Joomla cache and your browser cache (or access from a different browser). If that failes then you need to 'play' spot the difference' ... most likely the javascript of an extension that you do not have.

Also use the files from the Joomla 3.3.6 Joomla full package to overwrite the ones on your site(just in case a file is corrupt).

You could also test your sites on http://sitecheck.sucuri.net/scanner/
Last edited by Webdongle on Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19661
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by leolam » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:43 am

BobbyDigi_1030 wrote:I'm running the latest JCE editor (2.4.3) on Joomla 3.3.6. All my sites were updated at the same time and all instance of JCE work except for one. Did you see my earlier posts and screenshots?
Yes I did and we use per definition JCE on all our own and client sites and we have not seen this issue on non of the hundreds of sites we maintain so it is difficult to see from paper what is wrong. Did you test this from any other computer to see if it not your compu or browser related?

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:46 am

Same result in Firefox, Chrome & IE. Never thought of trying it from another computer though. Just logged into two different machines with the same result. Good idea though...
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:56 am

All the sites started as the same version
Were all updated incrementally
All the 3rd party extensions are up to date
Tried with different browsers
Tried with different computers

What is left ?

Clear Joomla cache in Admin
Fresh pair of eyes in /administrator ... PM me login details if you want me to take a quick first-hand look.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by sovainfo » Tue Oct 21, 2014 1:01 pm

Compare file listing of site that works with site with problem.

Try cli/deletefiles.php
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

User avatar
BobbyDigi_1030
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 4:10 pm
Location: Akron, Ohio

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by BobbyDigi_1030 » Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:12 pm

sovainfo - what does that file do?

I did scan between those sites and I do not see any difference or reference to JCE.
Mos Eisley...You'll never find a more wretched hive of scum and villainy. We must be cautious...

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:26 pm

The cli/deletefiles.php needs to be run by the command line not the browser and it deletes unwanted Joomla core files. If your update completed successfully then the deletefiles.php will have been run.

If you want a fresh pair of eyes to look then PM me a login and I can take a quick look.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by sovainfo » Tue Oct 21, 2014 4:14 pm

As @Webdongle mentions it removes the files and folders from places where they are not desired anymore. It should have been executed by the update. That doesn't mean they are still gone.

Both the filelisting compare and deletefiles are suggestions because everything has already been done. Spot the difference as @Webdongle calls it.
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

dfirsching
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 16
Joined: Sun Feb 03, 2008 4:59 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by dfirsching » Thu Oct 30, 2014 7:53 pm

I've had something similar happen but it only happened with one profile, so I changed the order of the profiles and used one in which the toolbar worked. I tried to add the buttons to the bar, etc. but that did not work. Works for other sites, though. Also Joomla 3.3.6, JCE 2.4.3.

jlilio
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:39 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by jlilio » Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:14 pm

The same issue was reported to me by my son and had the same symptoms indicated on this thread. I tried troubleshooting and did several things to no avail but finally got this working this morning. I thought of sharing this, it may help someone.

Try the following:
  1. Change your default editor to TinyMCE on Global Configuration
  2. Test by creating a custom html module (optional) - at least should show TinyMCE editor (not Editor - None)
  3. Test by creating a new article - at least should show TinyMCE editor (not Editor - None)
  4. Change your default editor back to JCE
  5. Test by creating a custom html module (in my case, JCE Editor toolbar now shows on both frontend and backend)
  6. Test by creating a new article (in my case, JCE Editor toolbar now shows on both frontend and backend)
Notes:
  • Experienced this on the latest Joomla version 3.3.6, latest JCE Editor with all plugins (free and paid)
  • Clearing/purging cache and global check-in did not help
  • Uninstalling and reinstalling JCE Editor did not help
  • It is actually working on localhost (xampp), but when migrated to the live site, it broke and just shows a blank editor.
  • I really did not find the cause, but the troubleshooting steps above fixed the issue for me
Additional info:
  • I did not upgrade from an older Joomla version by the way, it's 3.3.6 from local to live
  • I'm using a template powered by Helix II (if that's of anything similar to your environment)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37283
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:31 pm

jlilio wrote:I did not upgrade from an older Joomla version by the way, it's 3.3.6 from local to live
How was it transferred ? If it was transferred manually then it could be a path issue.

If you use http://extensions.joomla.org/extensions ... ackup/1606 to backup and move the site then it will put everything in it's correct place.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

jxbeauchamp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Aug 18, 2014 7:00 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by jxbeauchamp » Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:56 pm

How did you compare the source for the working site vs. the broken one? Did you use a diff tool like Beyond Compare or similar?

Diff the directory and a dump of the database.
You might also try using a tool like ACL Manager to make sure the assets table isn't all screwed up.

- James

jlilio
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 6:39 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by jlilio » Fri Oct 31, 2014 12:53 am

James and webdongle,

Thanks for your posts.

File transfer done through sftp. If you will believe me, this is the way I worked for many years since the birth of Joomla. I have also used jCE for quite sometime without a hitch, just now.

I failed to mention, I have completely removed all files and db on the live site, and restored a totally fresh and working copy from local, assuming it may be some issue with a corrupted file or something else.

I cannot imagine hardcoded paths in Joomla extensions, except those placed in cache (which can then just be purged) and so it is not normal to suspect an extension's path to be an issue. If such is the case, someone may need to post a bug report with JCE, I suppose.

I'm not a bug hunter however and probably will not be good at that. Purpose of my post is to share a potential answer to the main issue indicated on this thread (less we branch into another topic) and perhaps be able to assist someone who have spent hours trying to find a quick fix. ;-)

Thanks for your suggestions still.

Best Regard

Julian


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”