JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
frogeris
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:43 am

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by frogeris » Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:15 pm

Hi,

did anybody come up with a solution? In my case, the editor in custom HTML module still does not appear... For example, changing editor to another one and then again to JCE does not help like some other ways proposed here.

Any help is very appreciated!

User avatar
JAVesey
Joomla! Hero
Joomla! Hero
Posts: 2041
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 1:21 pm
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by JAVesey » Thu Dec 11, 2014 12:32 pm

JCE was updated a couple of days ago. Have you installed this updated version and, if so, does it work?
John V
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Uses Joomla 3.9.11 and PHP7.3

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37260
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Thu Dec 11, 2014 8:31 pm

frogeris wrote:... the editor in custom HTML module still does not appear... ...
Set the default front end Template to Protostar
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

frogeris
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2013 11:43 am

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by frogeris » Fri Dec 12, 2014 9:43 am

Hi,
JAVesey wrote:JCE was updated a couple of days ago. Have you installed this updated version and, if so, does it work?
there were recently few JCE updates. Unfortunately, none of them fixed the problem...
Webdongle wrote: Set the default front end Template to Protostar
This trick indeed worked! I changed Administrator template to hathor. Even though I prefer isis, normally working module is a priority.

Thanks a lot!

websolprov
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by websolprov » Fri Dec 12, 2014 10:41 am

I am having this exact same problem, I upgraded Joomla to 3.3.6 and JCE stopped working, TinyMCE works also and I uninstalled and reinstalled JCE and also upgraded to JCE 2.4.5. Have set in user manager and also used Default editor, and also set editor in global config but still doesnt show

Very frustrating, perhaps it only works if you install on a Wednesday when its a full moon and you stand on one leg?

I just get (under the link for [Toggle Editor] more links for Paragraph, Styles, Font family and Font Size and no JCE bar.

websolprov
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 13, 2010 3:43 pm
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by websolprov » Fri Dec 12, 2014 11:03 am

Webdongle wrote: Set the default front end Template to Protostar
This trick unfortunately didnt work for me!

kentmorrison
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:18 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by kentmorrison » Fri Dec 19, 2014 4:25 pm

SAME PROBLEM !
No JCE editor present after the 3.3.6 update to Joomla.

HELP!

HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP !!!



... ANYone?

...answers ?


HHHHHHHHHHHHEEEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Fri Dec 19, 2014 7:57 pm

I found a similar thread in the JCE Forum.

In the jce editor component:

In the Editor Global Configuration set Compress CSS and Compress Javascript to No.

This will disable JCE's own javascript / css compression.

This has resolved my customers problem for now. However, when I logged in as them I never did have the problem.

kentmorrison
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 8:18 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by kentmorrison » Fri Dec 19, 2014 9:27 pm

THANK YOU Cpointcc !

Finally FINALLY someone has provided a cogent response to this rodent rape.

It stuns me how easy it is to break Joomla and its parasitic software (extensions).
I try to build reliable sites for my clients and this kind of stooooooopid horseshit
wastes HOURS and hours and HOURS of my erstwhile valuable time.

Thanks again CPointcc !
If you send me your PayPal email address, I'll send you some $$$ for this answer !

TRYING to make it all work...
Kent

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Fri Dec 19, 2014 10:08 pm

You're welcome. Once I was able to finally get an error to show up (i couldn't make it fail, but my client did every time they logged in) it was easy to find the right thread to fix it. I too have wasted hours and hours searching for the right fix for the right problem. I still love Joomla and am willing to live with the 1% of the problems. Overall it's rare that I am not able to find or find a developer that is willing to fix, wanting to fix or willing to refund if not working as expected. Happy Holidays to you. I hope you can enter into them stress free now...

Cheers!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37260
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Webdongle » Fri Dec 19, 2014 11:19 pm

Cpointcc wrote:... I still love Joomla and am willing to live with the 1% of the problems. ...
But this was not a Joomla problem. It was the server not being able to cope with JCE settings.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Mon Dec 22, 2014 4:37 pm

Yes I agree it was a JCE problem and not Joomla, just raving about the program in general, the community and the development. There's a lot going on there and it is still my fav CMS and the extension community.

Uritron
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working - SIMPLE SOLUTION

Post by Uritron » Fri Dec 26, 2014 1:05 pm

Cpointcc wrote:i couldn't make it fail, but my client did every time they logged in
...and this is why for you Cpointcc it worked and for your client not:

Just go to the
JCE Administration :: Control Panel > Editor Profiles > Default
and select the User Group you want the JCE to work with.

SIMPLE ;)

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 37260
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working - SIMPLE SOLUTION

Post by Webdongle » Fri Dec 26, 2014 8:17 pm

Uritron wrote:...and this is why for you Cpointcc it worked and for your client not:

Just go to the
JCE Administration :: Control Panel > Editor Profiles > Default
and select the User Group you want the JCE to work with.
By default they are Author, Editor, Publisher and Super Users.

You need to check the default editor in Global config ... then check that each user (that have problems seeing the JCE editor) has their Editor is set as 'Default'. Users >>> User manager ... edit user ... 'Basic Settings' tab.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

Falcon22
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern
Posts: 58
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2007 4:16 am

Re: JCE Editor not working - SIMPLE SOLUTION

Post by Falcon22 » Sat Dec 27, 2014 7:36 am

OMG I cannot believe this worked! YES I could not switch editors because Code Mirror was my default.
THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THIS ANSWER! :D
You need to check the default editor in Global config ... then check that each user (that have problems seeing the JCE editor) has their Editor is set as 'Default'. Users >>> User manager ... edit user ... 'Basic Settings' tab.

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Mon Dec 29, 2014 2:29 pm

Webdongle,

Just to clear up my own confusion. I was logging in as the client and not getting the error, but when they logged in as themselves it failed everytime until those settings were changed. Why would it work for me when I logged in as them and fail for them?

Do you understand what I'm saying?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19602
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working - SIMPLE SOLUTION

Post by leolam » Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:36 pm

Webdongle wrote:By default they are Author, Editor, Publisher and Super Users
That is incorrect. Upon install JCE assigns to the default profile the user groups: "Manager", 'Administrator", "Author" , "Editor" , "Publisher" , "Super Users"

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19602
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by leolam » Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:38 pm

Cpointcc wrote:Do you understand what I'm saying?
That happens when you are still logged in into the administrator since your super-session is still valid and cookie set. Check this out while being logged out and with a cleared browser cache

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:39 pm

All the editors were superusers

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19602
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by leolam » Mon Dec 29, 2014 3:45 pm

Cpointcc wrote:All the editors were superusers
Huh? what do you mean? You mean that all users in the frontend were super users? Sorry please clarify? If the editors were only set to be accessed by Super Users logical that your publishers were not able to load. If that is the case somebody has changed the default settings that come with JCE. We install JCE on all our client sites and use it ourselves on all our sites.

Btw: you might be interested to read and act on this post by Steven Johnson: http://joomlahosting.com/extensions/jce ... lacements/ (JCE & Bootstrap - How to Stop 'i' to 'em' Replacements)

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:15 pm

No I'm only talking about the back end users. All were superadmins. All of them I could log in as and not have the same issue of the html view toggle and getting locked out, until I turned off the jce compression. If I used their credentials it never happened to me. I was thinking it was a firewall issue or something, but I could never duplicate the problem even logging in as them. They had to send me screenshots to see what was happening. Wierd.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19602
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by leolam » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:28 pm

Cpointcc wrote:No I'm only talking about the back end users. All were superadmins. All of them I could log in as and not have the same issue of the html view toggle and getting locked out, until I turned off the jce compression. If I used their credentials it never happened to me. I was thinking it was a firewall issue or something, but I could never duplicate the problem even logging in as them. They had to send me screenshots to see what was happening. Wierd.
Yep but you can see what is happening if you set error reporting to "development" and login "as" in frontend. It will most likely show the error and it is very likely server related. Just a quick one.... Is your site working with gzip enabled in template and/or global config?

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:31 pm

No I tried that and never got an error and nothing in the logs either, because it never failed for me.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19602
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by leolam » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:33 pm

Is your site working with gzip enabled in template and/or global config?
Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:39 pm

No that was not on either. It's weird. The client said it started happening before the 3.3.6 mini migration on all three of their sites. I think it must be something at the host that changed, but that still doesn't explain why it worked with no errors for me as them. Anyway it's documented and out there, and a resolution. Thank you for your efforts.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19602
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by leolam » Mon Dec 29, 2014 4:44 pm

Good to hear... Missed the resolution part. Please follow up on the "i" and "em" stuff I referred to

Leo ;-)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Mon Dec 29, 2014 5:21 pm

I've kept a copy of the article. it is nice that we can customize the editor. I've been using JCE for about 10 years now (since j1.0). Thank you again for your continued support and follow-up.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19602
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by leolam » Mon Dec 29, 2014 5:34 pm

thumbs-up!

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
-> Joomla Webmaster Services: gws-webmaster.services

Uritron
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Dec 26, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Uritron » Mon Dec 29, 2014 7:45 pm

Cpointcc wrote:Webdongle,

Just to clear up my own confusion. I was logging in as the client and not getting the error, but when they logged in as themselves it failed everytime until those settings were changed. Why would it work for me when I logged in as them and fail for them?

Do you understand what I'm saying?
Cookies maybe?

Cpointcc
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 28
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2008 2:24 pm

Re: JCE Editor not working after upgrade to Joomla! 3.3.3

Post by Cpointcc » Mon Dec 29, 2014 8:25 pm

I forced my browser (firefox) to never keep a history, cookies, passwords,etc. for development purposes. Maybe that would explain it for them but not me.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”