Article links are not working

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
edwinokugbo
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Article links are not working

Post by edwinokugbo » Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:13 pm

Hello all,

I just moved my site to another server and now all my article links are not working. I have tried to disable and reenabled SEF but it is still not working. I have also cleared the cache and it is still not working

I cant figure out what is wrong. I saw a comment somewhere about emptying the table where the SEF links are stored but it seems that is for older versions of Joomla

Please I need help on this

Cheers

Edwin

Zemplate
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Article links are not working

Post by Zemplate » Fri Dec 05, 2014 4:36 pm

This happens frequently when people move their site from one location to another. This is often because of the settings in your configuration.php file and or your .htaccess file. It can also be due to file permissions for your tmp or log folders.

If you can get into your backend, access the info for the configuration.php file through the Global Configuration settings. If you can't then make a backup of the configuration.php file and edit the original.

The common issues with the configuration.php file are:
public $host = ' '; This is usually "localhost" but some hosting companies have specific names for this. Check with your hosting company before making a change.

public $user = ' '; This is the name for the database user, not the Joomla login username. They should be different. You need to set up a database before you install Joomla and make note of the database name, database username and database password.