Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
bforesman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:13 pm

Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Postby bforesman » Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:22 pm

I've got several sites working with recaptcha but what I don't see is the NEW version with the window full of images???

User avatar
JAVesey
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1689
Joined: Tue May 14, 2013 1:21 pm
Location: Cardiff, Wales, UK
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Postby JAVesey » Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:37 pm

Can you be more specific:

Have you applied new recaptcha keys?
What pages is it not displaying on, i.e. Joomla core things like registration or pages associated with an extension?
What template are you using?
What Joomla version, etc?
John V
Cardiff, Wales, UK
Website: https://www.llanmon.org.uk (Joomla 3.8.10)

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3689
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Postby AMurray » Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:32 pm

What "page full of pictures" do you mean? Is there some other "mode" of Recaptcha V2 I perhaps am not aware of......?

The new version has the "I'm not a robot" and that's about it....

This is Google Recaptcha you're asking about and not some other one?
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Millennium Falcon - it's the ship that made the Kessel run in less than 12 parsecs! The fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 5085
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Postby sozzled » Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:00 pm

bforesman wrote:I've got several sites working with recaptcha but what I don't see is the NEW version with the window full of images???
I think it's very important that we understand the whole "picture".

There are, in effect, two CAPTCHA "systems" offered by Google. One of those systems requires a person to enter into a text box a string of letters or numbers that are displayed in a slightly distorted way in an image. This way is implemented in the Joomla reCAPTCHA plugin as "Google version 1".

The other way—"Google version 2"—is implemented slightly differently. In the other way, people use a mouse-click or tap various parts of the screen with a stylus or their finger instead of entering a string of text. Google "version 2" comes in two different variants: one of these variants appear—most of the time—as @AMurray describes it, as the I'm-not-a-robot variant (with one checkbox to select); under different circumstances, the other variant is appears as grid of several images requiring the viewer to "select all the images that depict a road-sign (or a tree, or some other significant feature)", in other words, there's a "multiple checkbox" selection to be made.

So, if this is what @bforesman is asking—how to display a grid of images instead of "something else"—then let's be very clear if this is what we're discussing before we become distracte with whether Google's reCAPTCHA is implemented throughout all of Joomla (which, of course, it isn't) because different Joomla versions use different CAPTCHA systems just as some Joomla extensions use different CAPTCHA systems or do not fully implement Google reCAPTCHA version 2. 8)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18825
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Postby leolam » Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:34 am

AMurray wrote:The new version has the "I'm not a robot" and that's about it..
No Andy....incorrect. Recapcha V2 https://support.google.com/recaptcha/?hl=en#6081880

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team

bforesman
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 2:13 pm

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Postby bforesman » Sat Oct 01, 2016 2:54 pm

So I'm not crazy, that's good.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 18825
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Postby leolam » Sat Oct 01, 2016 3:31 pm

bforesman wrote:So I'm not crazy, that's good.
Congrats with that indeed

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team


Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sozzled and 13 guests