Page 1 of 1

Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:22 pm
by bforesman
I've got several sites working with recaptcha but what I don't see is the NEW version with the window full of images???

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 5:37 pm
by JAVesey
Can you be more specific:

Have you applied new recaptcha keys?
What pages is it not displaying on, i.e. Joomla core things like registration or pages associated with an extension?
What template are you using?
What Joomla version, etc?

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 9:32 pm
by AMurray
What "page full of pictures" do you mean? Is there some other "mode" of Recaptcha V2 I perhaps am not aware of......?

The new version has the "I'm not a robot" and that's about it....

This is Google Recaptcha you're asking about and not some other one?

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Posted: Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:00 pm
by sozzled
bforesman wrote:I've got several sites working with recaptcha but what I don't see is the NEW version with the window full of images???
I think it's very important that we understand the whole "picture".

There are, in effect, two CAPTCHA "systems" offered by Google. One of those systems requires a person to enter into a text box a string of letters or numbers that are displayed in a slightly distorted way in an image. This way is implemented in the Joomla reCAPTCHA plugin as "Google version 1".

The other way—"Google version 2"—is implemented slightly differently. In the other way, people use a mouse-click or tap various parts of the screen with a stylus or their finger instead of entering a string of text. Google "version 2" comes in two different variants: one of these variants appear—most of the time—as @AMurray describes it, as the I'm-not-a-robot variant (with one checkbox to select); under different circumstances, the other variant is appears as grid of several images requiring the viewer to "select all the images that depict a road-sign (or a tree, or some other significant feature)", in other words, there's a "multiple checkbox" selection to be made.

So, if this is what @bforesman is asking—how to display a grid of images instead of "something else"—then let's be very clear if this is what we're discussing before we become distracte with whether Google's reCAPTCHA is implemented throughout all of Joomla (which, of course, it isn't) because different Joomla versions use different CAPTCHA systems just as some Joomla extensions use different CAPTCHA systems or do not fully implement Google reCAPTCHA version 2. 8)

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Posted: Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:34 am
by leolam
AMurray wrote: The new version has the "I'm not a robot" and that's about it..
No Andy....incorrect. Recapcha V2 https://support.google.com/recaptcha/?hl=en#6081880

Leo 8)

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 2:54 pm
by bforesman
So I'm not crazy, that's good.

Re: Recaptcha V2 not showing V2

Posted: Sat Oct 01, 2016 3:31 pm
by leolam
bforesman wrote:So I'm not crazy, that's good.
Congrats with that indeed

Leo 8)