Maintenance checklist

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
kulot
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Maintenance checklist

Post by kulot » Thu Aug 10, 2017 7:54 am

Hi,

For school paper purpose.

What are the things that needs to be done to maintain joomla website?

sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Maintenance checklist

Post by sozzled » Thu Aug 10, 2017 8:51 am

This is a very broad and difficult-to-answer question. Everyone will give you their own ideas.

To begin answering the question, I would say that you need four key skills (either you have them or you obtain other people who have those skills). The skill areas are

(a) technical: that is, how to host a website (FTP, CSS, site security) and, specifically for Joomla, an understanding of what are components, modules, plugins, templates, languages, libraries, etc. And, if you cannot write your own extensions for Joomla, the knowledge about where to find those extensions and how to install them. You also need to possess a basic understanding of the operation of Joomla's administration facilities: installing, updating, enabling/publishing/disabling/unpublishing/deleting those parts of Joomla that you will be using. Technical skills are often the ones that most people give priority to in this forum but, in my opinion, they are probably not as important as the other areas that I will list below.