menu not displayed

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
csinger
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:51 pm

menu not displayed

Post by csinger » Sun Jan 07, 2018 10:03 pm

I have a form page. The form target is a php page that updates a database and executes the php header function to return to another page. I am using sessions to maintain the id of the logged in user. When the the system returns to the after update page, no menu is displayed but is before the database update. I can't seem to figure out why. Thanks for any help.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 35879
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: menu not displayed

Post by Webdongle » Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:29 pm

You have a page in Joomla that has a form which runs an external script to an external database ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

csinger
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: menu not displayed

Post by csinger » Mon Jan 08, 2018 1:27 am

No it's the websites database.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 35879
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: menu not displayed

Post by Webdongle » Mon Jan 08, 2018 10:27 am

But the script is a php file outside of Joomla ?
What menu item type calls the page ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

csinger
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: menu not displayed

Post by csinger » Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:51 pm

I am pretty sure my problem has to do with SEF. The if I use the form target
index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=16&catid=2the page requested has 2 index.phps in the url. When I use ?option=com_content&view=article&id=16&catid=2 the url is correct and the menu is displayed. I really want to use the first form of the link, but can't find any setting to make that happen.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 35879
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: menu not displayed

Post by Webdongle » Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:40 pm

Is the file an external file that you are trying to return to Joomla with ? or is it a component ?

https://docs.joomla.org/Enabling_Search ... (SEF)_URLs might be what you are looking for.

btw
why not use the Menu title 'alias' as the url instead of the non sef url ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again, but expecting different results": Albert Einstein

csinger
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 2:51 pm

Re: menu not displayed

Post by csinger » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:26 pm

I'm using the menu alias and it works great. Didn't think of this before your suggestion. Thanks.


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”