Joomla 3.8.3 Templates Admin Page Broken

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
hairydalek
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Joomla 3.8.3 Templates Admin Page Broken

Post by hairydalek » Tue Jan 16, 2018 1:57 pm

Something I’ve just noticed (I’ve not needed to look at this page before). This is on both my development site here (a backup of what’s on the server), as well as the live site. Right now I’m trying to see how I can fix this locally.

If I go to Extensions>Templates>Templates, the page is broken.
Screen Shot 2018-01-16 at 13.41.26.PNG
If I look at the source, there is no header, just the content for that specific page.

There is nothing before this, and after the code for the list of templates, nothing else. It’s just literally the content of the page. No html tag, no header, not even an enclosing body.

I have tried a few things - fixes suggested for issues like this I have found include emptying caches (both Joomla and Browser), re-installing the template (which is hard as I can’t swap the admin template for something else as the page to do this is the broken one - I used the Extension>Manage>Manage menu). I have also tried overwriting the Joomla installation with a new download, removing and re-installing the Isis template (though both admin templates seem affected).

I’ve tried using various debug settings, hoping errors get written to the log when this page is accessed, but no luck there. No errors on the page, no errors in the logs. It’s almost as if the main template is being ignored.

Tried Database fix - again, no change.