Empty Article Trash Erases Assets Table

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
moodog4rg
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Empty Article Trash Erases Assets Table

Post by moodog4rg » Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:05 pm

When Did Problem Start: Yesterday at 2 pm Central Time (approximately)
Version Of Joomla Used On Site In Question: 3.7.3
What Changes Were Made Yesterday:

1). Updated Admin Tools from 4.3.1 to 5.0.1 This was done under Extensions - Update
2). Uninstalled Admin Tools 5.0.1

Steps to reproduce problem:

a). Articles - Add New Article
b). Status: Published - Category: Local News (For Example) - Title: test001aaa - Description: This Is A Test (Save)
c). Unpublish article (So far so good)
d). Trash article (Again, so far so good)
e). Filter articles using status - Trashed
f). Select article test001aaa
g). Click Empty Trash
h). I am now kicked back to the login screen
i). I login to CPanel (phpMyAdmin) and to my surprise, the jos_assets table is gone. Once I restore jos_assets users are able to login and post new articles.

FYI If I repeat steps c through g with an article posted by a different user I do not get kicked out. The process completes properly and the jos_assets table remains intact.

Since the problem began I reinstalled Admin Tools (version 4.3.1) and attempted to run it to see if it would fix any user permissions issues. Sadly, that has not resolved this.

Any suggestions you have would be greatly appreciated.
Last edited by toivo on Thu Feb 22, 2018 6:14 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved, not related to 3.x Security

gws
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion

Re: Empty Article Trash Erases Assets Table