Edit Icon won't hide for blog layout

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
asearle1
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

Edit Icon won't hide for blog layout

Postby asearle1 » Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:26 am

Hallo Everyone,

I have a site where the global setting is that articles should not display the edit symbol. All settings are "Use Global".

However, I recently created a "Blog" layout menu item containing/displaying four pages but find that each of these pages displays the edit icon/symbol which is not what I want.

I have dug around in the article settings, the menu settings and the category settings adjusting "show icons" to hide and changing permissions and owners. But the edit icons are still displaying.

Indeed, I ran a test with an article which, when displaying full-page, did not have the edit icon but, when included in the blog-layout, did. This prompted me to assume that the key must lie in the Blog menu entry so I adjusted "Show icons" there (to both "user article settings" and to "hide") but this didn't change anything.

Can anyone help me here? There must be setting that I have missed. Or do Blog-layouts operate in a fundamental different way?

Many thanks for any tips that you can give me.

Yours,
Alan

sozzled
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: Edit Icon won't hide for blog layout

Postby sozzled » Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:31 am

I understand that this setting can be changed but I haven't looked into it too deeply. Perhaps this might help: viewtopic.php?f=706&t=858897
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team