Module in single article accessed from category blog

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
andypooz
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Module in single article accessed from category blog

Postby andypooz » Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:20 am

Has anyone got a trick for getting a module to appear on any single article page accessed from a category blog (with no menu item for the single article) when the module is not set to appear on the category blog page (which does have a menu item)?

I'm well aware of the Joomla module-by-menu-item paradigm of Joomla, and I'm quite happy with it, but I have had this requirement a few times and never quite found a good solution (or any solution to be honest).

As I want my module to appear at the bottom of my content, I could create my module content as a content plugin and put the tag at the bottom of each article in the editor. As long as all articles in the blog had the tag below the read more (and no full articles), then that would work, but I'm convinced there's a far easier and more adaptable way.

I'd rather not use an additional extension that provides advanced control of modules, but if anyone has one that works well, I'm open to suggestions.
Andy Hickey
Bespoke Joomla Extension Developer
http://www.netamity.com

SharkyKZ
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Re: Module in single article accessed from category blog

Postby SharkyKZ » Thu Mar 08, 2018 9:39 am

As I want my module to appear at the bottom of my content, I could create my module content as a content plugin and put the tag at the bottom of each article in the editor.