JML 3.8.8 Menu Type "Menu Heading" Bug

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
nwhit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

JML 3.8.8 Menu Type "Menu Heading" Bug

Post by nwhit » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:01 pm

Building a new site with Joomla 3.8.8 on a TM template. Need to add a menu header item for sub menu items, but when I use that type Menu item it makes that menu item (top level) a link to a non-existent item, thus giving a error page.

Have tried clearing cache, changing the menu item type back and forth, but still does it. Cannot get it to be a simple "Menu Heading". Have used this many times in other Joomla installs, so very familiar with using it.

Wondering if this is a bug in J3.8.8??? Anyone else seeing this problem?

nwhit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: JML 3.8.8 Menu Type "Menu Heading" Bug

Post by nwhit » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:05 pm

Just tried the same thing on another install of same template using J 3.8.7 and have the same issue.

nwhit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by nwhit » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:26 pm

Template does use the Superfish Menu Module v3.3.4

sozzled
I've been banned!

Post by sozzled » Mon Jun 18, 2018 10:30 pm

nwhit wrote:... add a menu header item for sub menu items, but when I use that type Menu item it makes that menu item (top level) a link to a non-existent item, thus giving a error page.
I tried this a few moments ago with Protostar.

1) J! 3.8.8 (backend): Create a new menu item with the Menu Item Type = Menu Heading

2) Save the menu item; move another menu item with the newly saved menu item as its parent.