Moving Joomla 3 to a new server : Step by step guide

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
webmigration
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Moving Joomla 3 to a new server : Step by step guide

Post by webmigration » Thu May 23, 2019 11:39 am

Hello Community.

I've started up a new website and could do with some feedback from some Joomla users.

The website is a migration guide site full of guides on migrating the most popular CMS/E-commerce systems etc. Since Joomla is a popular CMS I've added it in to the site.

The guide website is websitemigrationguides.com and a direct link to the migration guide is :
https://websitemigrationguides.com/guid ... rate=1#top

I've tried to write the guide so anyone (no matter the tech level or host being used) can use it to move from a poor host to a new (hopefully better) host.

There are no ads or promotion etc on the site.

I'd appreciate it if any joomla admins etc could take a look and see if I've missed anything.

p.s. I know it's a long guide but I wanted it so anyone could follow it (so no one is every stuck with a poor host again!)

Thank you in advance :D

gws
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: Moving Joomla 3 to a new server : Step by step guide

Post by gws » Thu May 23, 2019 12:16 pm

Have you ever heard of Akeeba? It automates moving a joomla site correctly.

webmigration
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by webmigration » Thu May 23, 2019 1:07 pm

Hi @gws,