Database schema not matching CMS version Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
kjersos
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:56 am

Database schema not matching CMS version

Post by kjersos » Sat May 25, 2019 12:36 am

1) database errors: Database schema version (3.9.3-2019-02-07) does not match CMS version (). The Joomla! Core database tables have not been converted yet to UTF-8 Multibyte (utf8mb4). Quite simple to fix; will take about five minutes; I've written many times on the forum how to fix this.

Hi Sozzled I did search sorry couldn't find your previous posts on how to fix.

Thanks for your help.
Nadja

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7521
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Database schema not matching CMS version

Post by sozzled » Sat May 25, 2019 1:03 am

Good question and thanks for creating a separate topic to discuss this.

The database collation / character encoding (latin1_swedish_ci / latin) was changed as the default from J! 3.5 to use UTF8-multibyte. Therefore, for all versions of J! from J! 3.5.0 onwards, the database collation / character encoding should be utf8mb4 / utf8mb4_general_ci

See these topics (among others):
It's pretty simple.

Also, while we're at it, because you are using PHP 7.3, it may be a good idea to change the Session Handler from "Database" to "PHP" for improved performance. Just an idea.

Also, to keep your site in good shape (particularly when it comes to performing software updates), increase the Max. Upload Size and Max POST Size settings for PHP.

Happy to help. 8)
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

kjersos
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:56 am

Re: Database schema not matching CMS version

Post by kjersos » Sun May 26, 2019 2:03 am

Hi Sozzled,

I already had Akeeba BackUp but had never downloaded Akeeba Tools. Followed the instructions as posted.

Thank you so much for that. Excellent Software, easy to employ.

Thanks also for the suggestion re PHP. And I was wondering what you would suggest for settings.

Also changed the session handler.

One thing though is I checked Extension: Warnings and it said that "The maximum file size for uploads is set to less than 8MB which may impact on uploading large packages." I had reset it to 18M, which it doesn't seem to recognize. I double checked the php.ini and yes it says 18M

Warmly
Nadja

User avatar
sozzled
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 7521
Joined: Sun Jul 05, 2009 3:30 am
Location: Canberra, Australia
Contact:

Re: Database schema not matching CMS version

Post by sozzled » Sun May 26, 2019 3:38 am

Suggestions for the two PHP settings:

Max. Upload Size: at least 32M
Max. POST Size: greater than 32M

Post size must be larger than upload size.
https://www.kuneze.com/blog
Former member of Kunena project team
If you think I’m wrong then say “I think you're wrong.” If you say “You’re wrong!”, how do you know?

dinosaur07
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon May 20, 2019 6:40 pm

Re: Database schema not matching CMS version

Post by dinosaur07 » Sun May 26, 2019 8:38 pm

The last one helped me! Thanks!

kjersos
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 106
Joined: Fri Nov 10, 2017 4:56 am

Re: Database schema not matching CMS version

Post by kjersos » Fri May 31, 2019 3:19 am

Part of the problem I ran into was I thought I was resetting the php using the php.ini file unaware that it was only through the cpanel that I would be able to change these settings with my current host. This is true of many hosts today I have come to understand, although if you search online you will find plenty of pages that say to edit the php.ini file.

Hope this information helps others.

Warmly
Nadja


Post Reply

Return to “General Questions/New to Joomla! 3.x”