"Security token did not match." Frontend login error.

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Volgard
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

"Security token did not match." Frontend login error.

Post by Volgard » Wed Sep 11, 2019 4:27 pm

Hi All,

I am unable to login from the frontend. All users are affected including Admin and SuperUser.

I am on the latest Joomla 3.9.11, PHP 7.2 All modules, plugins and extensions are up to date.
The tmp physical path (the $tmp_path variable in the configuration.php file) is correct and writable by the web server.
The log physical path (the $log_path variable in the configuration.php file)is correct and writable by the web server.
The cookie domain (the $cookie_domain variable in the configuration.php file) is empty.
The plg_user_joomla plugin is enabled. The plg_authentication_joomla plugin is enabled.
The session handler (the $session_handler variable in the configuration.php file) is set to database, but I have also tested setting it to none.
All types of cache are disabled (including System - Page Cache plugin).

When attempting to log in, the page with login form refreshes, user does not log in. Forgot your username / Forgot your password buttons also do not work.

The error message I am getting says "Warning: The security token did not match. The request was aborted to prevent any security breach. Please try again."

What is very weird the problem does not affect all templates - e.g. if I set the page to standard protostar template to test login form - it works fine.

Any idea what could be causing this?

Thanks for your help and advice!
Last edited by toivo on Thu Sep 12, 2019 12:23 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved from 3.x Security

abernyte
Joomla! Virtuoso