hiding modules based on screen size Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
erkbiz
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

hiding modules based on screen size

Post by erkbiz » Tue May 11, 2021 7:19 pm

Hello,

I am designing for several different screen sizes and want to hide a module when the site is launched from a small screen, (e.g. a phone). I am on Joomla 3.9 and am using template toaster 8.0 as my template design tool which supports bootstrap 4.

I have read on multilple posts about boostrap being able to hide modules when the Module Class Suffix Field, found under the advance tab of the module I want to hide, is filled in with a statement recognized by bootstrap, (see below). I also have read that if a snippet of CSS is added to the CSS file it is possible to hide a module, (see below). On many of these posts it appears this works for some people, it is not working for me.

The bootstrap CSS file is part of the import of my template, I have verified it is included with the template.

I have added the following string to the module's class suffix field and have added the suggested CSS to my template CSS file. Nothing works.

If you have had success hiding modules using these techniques, or if you have had success using another method please let me know.......Thanks!

string added to module's class suffix
hidden-mobile

CSS added to CSS file
@media screen and (max-width: 787px) {
.hidden-mobile {
display:none;

illovo
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Re: hiding modules based on screen size

Post by illovo » Tue May 11, 2021 11:46 pm