Rotating banners Topic is solved

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
rob-h
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Rotating banners

Post by rob-h » Tue Jul 13, 2021 2:17 pm

Hi

I've tried everything I can think of, but can't get banners to rotate.

Test:
I've set up some test clients with different banners.
A test category in case that was important.
Set banner module to Pinned, Randomise.

Results:
If I use the banner module with one client, one banner is displayed.
If I use it with no clients and no categories, 4 banners are displayed in a vertical list, in random order.
If I select no clients and the test category, 4 banners are displayed in a vertical list, in random order.
If I pin a couple of banners, those are the top two in the list (when 4 are displayed).

Conclude:
Lots of the banner system is working as I'd expect ie random order, pinning a banner.
But 'Pinned, Randomise' seems not to be working as described.

I'm sure there's a simple answer, but after some hours and much searching I can't see what it is.

System details below.

Rob

System details:
Setting Value
PHP Built On Linux freeweb4.byetcluster.com 2.6.32-896.16.1.lve1.4.54.el6.x86_64 #1 SMP Wed May 2 07:43:19 EDT 2018 x86_64
Database Type mysql
Database Version 5.6.48-88.0
Database Collation latin1_swedish_ci
Database Connection Collation utf8mb4_general_ci
PHP Version 7.4.8
Web Server Apache
WebServer to PHP Interface apache2handler
Joomla! Version Joomla! 3.9.28 Stable [ Amani ] 6-July-2021 15:00 GMT
Joomla! Platform Version Joomla Platform 13.1.0 Stable [ Curiosity ] 24-Apr-2013 00:00 GMT