On a new visit redirect users to home page

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
doug__j
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

On a new visit redirect users to home page

Post by doug__j » Wed Jul 21, 2021 9:33 pm

I have a web site with a home page with links to pages one and two. If someone bookmarks page two they go direct to page two missing the new content on the home page

I would like to redirect them to the home page if they go direct to page two.

Any suggestions
Doug

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: On a new visit redirect users to home page

Post by sozzled » Wed Jul 21, 2021 9:51 pm

Interesting question.

I don't think there's a built-in way in J! to control this behaviour but it's possible to address the matter by using cookies.

Let's say a user visits the home page. You could generate a session cookie when that happens. Then, if a person visits "page two" you could see if the session cookie exists and allow the access to "page two". If someone has bookmarked "page two" and goes there directly, when you check if the session cookie exists for the home page—and it won't exist—then you could redirect the user to the home page (and then the session cookie will be generated and then they can go to "page two").

You could write a piece of Javascript to generate the cookie on the home page and another piece of Javascript for "page two" to check if the "home page cookie" exists and conditionally redirect the browser to the home page.

That would be how I would do this. Someone else may have another (or different) approach. Good luck. :)

Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Post by Webdongle » Thu Jul 22, 2021 2:09 am