"Failed to start application" error after php upgrade

General questions relating to Joomla! 3.x.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you should use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
AndyInSpain
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

"Failed to start application" error after php upgrade

Post by AndyInSpain » Mon Apr 25, 2022 10:23 am

Hi guys,

I am running Joomla under Xampp, but now, when trying to start Joomla after upgrading php from 7.4 to 8.1.4, I am getting a "Error: Failed to start application: Failed to start the session" error. Both Apache and MySQL are running under the new version of php without problems. I can connect to the database through Heidi SQL, so logging into the database appears to be OK.

I am using the latest version 3 Joomla (sorry, as I can't get in to Joomla I cannot tell you exactly which version - I updated Joomla about a week ago, if that helps).

I am hoping that some clever person will be able to say, aha, after upgrading your php you need to do THIS to get Xampp and Joomla working together. That's my hope, anyway!! :) Or failing that, I'm hoping somebody will be able to give me some pointers as to a possible cause/solution.

I hasten to add that I have not made any changes except upgrading php.

Many thanks in advance!

Andy
Last edited by toivo on Mon Apr 25, 2022 1:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: moved from 4.x General Questions

Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: "Failed to start application" error after php upgrade

Post by Webdongle » Mon Apr 25, 2022 12:23 pm

Suggest you use wamp. Copy your website to that. You can change php on the fly with Wamp.
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html