Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum. Note: Users creating new sites can use either version 2.5 or 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Wed Oct 11, 2017 3:08 pm

Hi to everybody. I am quite a newbie to Joomla, so please help me with easy instructions, if you can. A friend of mine gave me a site to administer, with Joomla 3.7.1

I wished to upgrade it to the latest version, but my Components menu misses the item "Joomla! Update", as you can see in the picture below:
Image

Following the advices from other users, I first try to reach the missing component with

http://www.mysite.xx/administrator/inde ... omlaupdate

but it didn't work. If I try the url before, I am redirected to index page (no fault page message).

So I re-installed Joomla again, overwriting the old installation, but again with no effect (the missing menu item is always missing!).

I checked Database (it is ok, aligned) and extensions (all updated) and now I don't know what I can try again.

Anybody can help me?
Thanks a lot
Giancarlo - Italy

wojsmol
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby wojsmol » Wed Oct 11, 2017 4:48 pm

Hi
Please run this query in phpmyadmin

Code: Select all

SELECT `extension_id`,`client_id`,`enabled`,`access` FROM `#__extensions` WHERE `name` = 'com_joomlaupdate';
Replace #__ with table prefix and show result.

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:54 pm

Here are the results:

Image

Thanks for helping!
Giancarlo

wojsmol
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby wojsmol » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:29 pm

Hi
Run this query

Code: Select all

UPDATE `#__extensions` SET `enabled` = 1 WHERE `name` = 'com_joomlaupdate';
replace #__ with table prefix and check Components menu in backend.

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Thu Oct 12, 2017 5:55 am

Tried
UPDATE `#__extensions` SET `enabled` = 1 WHERE `name` = 'com_joomlaupdate';
but I get an empty query result.

wojsmol
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby wojsmol » Thu Oct 12, 2017 8:22 am

Hi
Please replace #__ with table prefix as in first case. Expected results is a massage about 1 record bean modified.

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:05 pm

Yes, I tried with
UPDATE `avj3_extensions` SET `enabled` = 1 WHERE `name` = 'com_joomlaupdate'
but got a "0 modified rows" message.

User avatar
jackrabbit
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace
Posts: 1473
Joined: Thu May 21, 2009 3:12 am
Location: Florida
Contact:

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby jackrabbit » Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:28 pm

Too much time doing manual SQL processes
- Go to Extensions > Manage > Discover
- Select the item and click Install at the top left.

If Joomla Update is immediately in the list, click the button labeled Discover.

If the component still does not display, it means the files are missing and you will have to extract the directories from a Joomla package and upload them to the corresponding directories, then run the discover tool.
joomla-discover.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Reset Joomla super user password and username simply | http://cmsenergizer.com/website-energy- ... d-remotely

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Fri Oct 13, 2017 6:23 pm

No Joomla! Update in Discover menu. Which folders should I extract and upload? I already re-uploaded the full Joomla installation package (overwriting my files), but with no results. Update menu item is always missing!
Thanks for help
Giancarlo

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Fri Oct 13, 2017 9:55 pm

Make a backup then

Download https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/releases/download/3.6.1/com_joomlaupdate-3.6.1.zip and install via Extensions >>> Manage install ... that should install the Joomla update component. But it wont fix the reason that it was missing. If you get "Fatal error: Undefined class constant 'STABILITY_STABLE' in /administrator/components/com_joomlaupdate/models/default.php on line 135" when you go to Components >>> Joomla update ... then post back and I will explain how to work around that.

wojsmol
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby wojsmol » Sat Oct 14, 2017 4:16 am

@Webdongle Here we have com_joomlaupdate disabled in #__extensions table, see viewtopic.php?p=3497421#p3497421.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Sat Oct 14, 2017 8:58 am

Then Extensions >>> Manage >>> Manage ... activate it. It might be locked in that case change in the database.

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Sun Oct 15, 2017 1:27 pm

Sorry, I didn't understand what I have to activate and how. Here is my Extensions List:

Image

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Sun Oct 15, 2017 2:10 pm

The update component so that it works. It is locked from changed in Joomla admin so you will need to change a setting in the database.

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Sun Oct 15, 2017 5:46 pm

Yes, but please, explain me what I have to do in simple terms! What do I have to change in db settings and where?
Thanks a lot!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:00 pm

In 'Enabled' change 0(zero) to 1(one)
update 04.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Mon Oct 16, 2017 3:35 pm

Thanks for your kind answer. I checked the extension, but it is already enabled!

Image

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Mon Oct 16, 2017 4:27 pm

And /administrator/index.php?option=com_joomlaupdate fails ?

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Tue Oct 17, 2017 10:45 am

Disaster! I tried /administrator/index.php?option=com_joomlaupdate and there was an update. I clicked on update and, after a while, I received a message:

ERROR
The archive file is corrupted, truncated or archive parts are missing

Now, when I try to access to my administrator panel, I receive an Error 500 (Application Instantion Error).

What can I do now? Please help!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:18 am

Rebuild the files on localhost on your computer
  1. Install Joomla of the same version on localhost
  2. Install the 3rd party extensions to it
  3. Export your site database and import it into an empty database on localhost
  4. Edit the configuration.php to connect to the database that has your site data

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:26 pm

Oh my god... it sounds complicated! Is it the only solution?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Tue Oct 17, 2017 6:47 pm

It's not complicated
Steps #1 and #2 is the same as is done when creating a site
Step #3 is similar to saving a word document and importing one.
Step #4 is just changing some values in the configuration.php file.

There is not much alternative because you overwrote the core files and probably have a mixture of versions. Unless you have a backup and can restore that ?

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:08 am

I have a backup previously done with Akeeba Backup. May it help?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:11 am

semsaudade wrote:I have a backup previously done with Akeeba Backup. May it help?

Yes but it's best use it on localhost on your computer.

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Wed Oct 18, 2017 5:39 pm

Webdongle wrote:
Yes but it's best use it on localhost on your computer.


So you suggest to:
1. Install Joomla on local host
2. Install extensions (where can I find them? I don't remember which ones were installed)
3. Export and import db
4. Edit the configuration.php

Point 4 is not very clear to me. What should I do? And when (in which step) should I use my backup? And isn't there a missing point:

5. Load via ftp local host on server?

Thanks!

wojsmol
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby wojsmol » Wed Oct 18, 2017 6:02 pm

Hi semsaudade
Then you created your backup?

semsaudade
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby semsaudade » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:09 pm

Yes I have a backup, but I don't know what to do now...

wojsmol
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 419
Joined: Fri Jul 24, 2009 8:18 am

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby wojsmol » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:25 pm

Ok, main question for now is whether restoring from that backup is possible? How match data we lose?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 33737
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Menu Components missing Joomla! Update

Postby Webdongle » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:53 pm

On localhost all you would need to change in the configuration.php file is
database name
table prefix

If you edit the configuration file and can access the sites database then you can find the installed extensions
Extensions >>> manage >>> manage ... order ID descending'
It would mean editing the configuration.php again back to the fresh install database.

The reason is ... by installing the the extensions to a fresh Joomla install ... you have fresh Joomla and 3rd party extension files. That rules out corrupt files preventing the site working when you connect them to the site database :D


Return to “Installation Joomla! 3.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests