subdomaim doesnt open

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Post Reply
hmfadil
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:33 am

subdomaim doesnt open

Post by hmfadil » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:18 pm

I install joomla 3 into subdomain, but I when open it, it doesnt open,instead the following appears:

Index of /
Name Last modified Size Description
joomla30/ 2018-01-30 04:16 -
cgi-bin/ 2018-02-04 19:57 -

and I have to click on joomla30.to open it!

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3907
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: subdomaim doesnt open

Post by AMurray » Mon Feb 12, 2018 9:43 pm

All I can do is guess (as your question is not clear in what you're actually asking) and could suggest that all you're seeing is a typical Apache / Linux folder listing meaning there's no files there, otherwise you'd see your site.

You're saying that joomla30.yoursite.com doesn't work but yoursite.com/joomla30 does? Or do you mean something else?

Can you provide the link that you believe should work, and the one that works without the sub-domain as we need to see what you're seeing to understand your question.

Have you set up the sub--domain correctly through your hosting c-panel and if not, this looks like a question for the host as I wouldn't think it's a Joomla issue as such.
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Millennium Falcon - it's the ship that made the Kessel run in less than 12 parsecs! The fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.

hmfadil
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:33 am

Re: subdomaim doesnt open

Post by hmfadil » Mon Feb 12, 2018 10:05 pm

the main domain isnt a joomla one, it is:
http://www.multaqalahibba.com/
the aubdomin :
http://hamzahfadil.multaqalahibba.com

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19099
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: subdomaim doesnt open

Post by leolam » Wed Feb 14, 2018 4:17 am

You have used softaculous or so to install this and you have not instructed the extraction to "hamzahfadil" so a new folder is created within the subdomain. You can move in the file manager of phpMyAdmin all the files within joomla30 to the subdomain root and change the path in the global configuration for 'public $log_path' and 'public $tmp_path' (remove 'joomla30' from the path)

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso
Posts: 3907
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: subdomaim doesnt open

Post by AMurray » Wed Feb 14, 2018 8:46 am

Once you move the site there, it won't be a problem, but until you do, suggest turning off the directory listing.

@leolam - "file manager of phpmyadmin" ??? I didn't know it had such a thing since phpmyadmin is the database tool

Do you mean file manager in cPanel (or whatever hosting management system is used)?
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Millennium Falcon - it's the ship that made the Kessel run in less than 12 parsecs! The fastest hunk of junk in the galaxy.

User avatar
leolam
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 19099
Joined: Mon Aug 29, 2005 10:17 am
Location: Netherlands/ UK/ S'pore/Jakarta/ North America
Contact:

Re: subdomaim doesnt open

Post by leolam » Wed Feb 14, 2018 2:40 pm

@Andy
Thanks for the notification...I made a typo and I meant instead of phpMyAdmin of course cPanel

Thank you for pointing out the issue

Leo 8)
Joomla's #1 Professional Support Provider:
-> Joomla Professional Support: https://gws-desk.com -
-> Joomla Specialized Hosting Solutions: https://gws-host.com -
Member Joomla Bug Squad & Joomla CMS Release Team

hmfadil
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:33 am

Re: subdomaim doesnt open

Post by hmfadil » Thu Feb 15, 2018 10:45 pm

However I deleted the subdomain and reinstalled it carefully, it worked well. Thank you leodam and Amurray. Sorry for my poor English.


Post Reply

Return to “Installation Joomla! 3.x”