Joomla 3.1 Installation Hangs on Step 1 [Resolved]

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
Pinpickle
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomla 3.1 Installation Hangs on Step 1 [Resolved]

Post by Pinpickle » Sat Jul 06, 2013 9:44 am

EDIT: I just decided to uninstall all of my server related things and give XAMPP a go. That worked the trick so there must have been some configuration wrong somewhere, I'm guessing in the PHP side of things.

It seems that this issue has been posted a few times but nobody has really come up with a solution - hopefully this can be an exception.

The problem is simple. I'm trying out Joomla! for the first time and I'm trying to install 3.1.1 on an Apache 2.4 server running on my personal computer which is running windows 8. As far as I can tell I have all of the prerequisites (Apache, MySQL and PHP) but every time I open up the installer in my browser, fill in the details in step one and hit next, without fail, an endless loading bar comes up. The documentation for installation is pretty sparse when it comes to troubleshooting so I thought it best to come here. If it's worth noting, I also get an endless loading bar when I select a different language on the dropdown menu.

My browser isn't throwing any errors, Apache isn't throwing any errors, to my knowledge neither is PHP (though I can't seem to find any logs from it at all). I'm thinking the issues may have something to do with permissions but on Windows computers I'm not quite sure how to do that in great detail.

Some help would be greatly appreciated.