Installing Joomla 3.3 hangs at step 3 (Installation Process)

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
mekanero
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Installing Joomla 3.3 hangs at step 3 (Installation Process)

Post by mekanero » Wed Dec 10, 2014 7:56 pm

Am Installing Joomla CMS staging as the directory name indicates but as I've gotten to the final step (Overview step 3) as it starts to install, it will hang at creating database...please i need help.
Thanks

jackrabbit
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Re: Installing Joomla 3.3 hangs at step 3 (Installation Proc

Post by jackrabbit » Wed Dec 10, 2014 10:12 pm

Try the manual method explained at http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=706&t=868145
Reset Joomla super user password and username simply | http://cmsenergizer.com/website-energy- ... d-remotely

mekanero
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Post by mekanero » Sat Dec 13, 2014 4:02 pm

Ok...i have actually copied the file from the installation folder and now kept it at the main directory which is the the main application folder / directory. so i hope that's where it should be? Then i can now run the program again right?
Please take me as i am because am trying to be sure of what you're instructing me on.

jackrabbit
Joomla! Ace
Joomla! Ace

Post by jackrabbit » Sat Dec 13, 2014 5:08 pm

No. Once you copy the file to the Joomla root, you need to manually enter the required details as it indicates, by editing the file with your hosting control panel's text editor or what ever you use to edit a text file.

Fill in the database lines as shown

Code: Select all

/* Database Settings */