Error installing joomla 3

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
avandenbroeck
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Error installing joomla 3

Post by avandenbroeck » Fri Jun 23, 2017 4:44 pm

Hello al please help if you can.
I am installing Joomla 3x on Centos 7. All requirements are met (php and mysql). I have gone as far as changing permition on the installation folder to 777, and also create the configuration.php manually , but i keep getting the following error.

Your configuration file or folder is not writable or there was a problem creating the configuration file. You will have to upload the following code by hand. Select in the text area to highlight all of the code and then paste into a new text file. Name this file 'configuration.php' and upload it to your site root folder.
Last edited by toivo on Fri Jun 23, 2017 6:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: cross post removed, cross posting not allowed - see the forum rules https://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=65

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Error installing joomla 3

Post by AMurray » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:42 pm

You shouldn't need 777 permissions (and certainly shouldn't leave it like that).

Which exact version of 3.x are you installing - please be precise in your questions.

Please post your FPA Report: see this link for detail: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860
Regards - A Murray
General Support Moderator

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Error installing joomla 3

Post by AMurray » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:54 pm