Error after restore: Failed to start session

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
wetken
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Error after restore: Failed to start session

Post by wetken » Tue Oct 03, 2017 12:46 pm

I had exactly this issue today, but it was preceded by an 'unable to create directory' message, and the update stalled. I then got the 500 error after trying to use the site. I resolved it by doing a complete restore to the pre-update state, executing chown -R to ensure there were no files not owned by the site, then re-starting the update. However, I now have an error which I had thought was fixed;

Warning: ini_set(): A session is active. You cannot change the session module's ini settings at this time in /home/<myuser>/public_html/<mysite>/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php on line 48

Warning: Cannot modify header information - headers already sent by (output started at /home/<myuser>/public_html/<mysite>/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php:48) in /home/<myuser>/public_html/<mysite>/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php on line 110
Error displaying the error page: Application Instantiation Error: Failed to start the session because headers have already been sent by "/home/<myuser>/public_html/<mysite>/libraries/joomla/session/handler/joomla.php" at line 48.

There was a patch for this; do I need to re-apply it?
Last edited by toivo on Tue Oct 03, 2017 1:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: split from another topic - please create your own topics in the future

wetken
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice