Joomla 3.8.3 GoDaddy Windows Install Next Button

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
egnew
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Joomla 3.8.3 GoDaddy Windows Install Next Button

Post by egnew » Wed Dec 27, 2017 2:15 pm

I installed Joomla 3.8.3 in a GoDaddy Windows domain. The first installation screen (Configuration) appears but when I click next, the installer does not advance to the next screen (Database). I installed PHP 5.6.30 and put a phpinfo file in the Joomla folder. It shows PHP 5.6.30 with the loaded configuration file listed as C:\cgi\php56\php.ini. The mySQL version is 5.5 but I never got to the database screen.

What needs to be done to get the Next button to work correctly?
Last edited by toivo on Fri Feb 23, 2018 9:10 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: mod note: marked solved on request

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Joomla 3.8.3 GoDaddy Windows Install Next Button

Post by AMurray » Wed Dec 27, 2017 9:32 pm

Do you need to create the database itself first? Have you given the database user all permissions on that database?

Does the "next" button simply not react to you clicking it or does it go into it's "please wait, site loading..."

Does the (first) configuration screen show any "red flags" for any of the required system elements to run joomla or are they all "green lights" (so to speak)?

Can you upgrade to PHP 7 on your hosting? (not required for Joomla 3.8.3, but will run on it). Not saying PHP version is the issue, but just curious.
Regards - A Murray
General Support Moderator

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar