Nginx, URL rewrite and static files

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum. Note: Users creating new sites can use either version 2.5 or 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
j0hny
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Nginx, URL rewrite and static files

Postby j0hny » Fri Dec 29, 2017 2:59 pm

Hello everyone,

I'm currently attempting to migrate my clients joomla-based web from third party hosting provider to my VPS. It is a Debian 8 machine running nginx, php-fpm with PHP 7.0 and mariadb 10.1.23.

EDIT: I forgot to mention Joomla version - it is the current version 3.8.3

I have managed to make everything work, apart from the search engine friendly (SEF) URLs.

If I turn SEF URLs off, everything works fine. If I turn it on without the "Use URL rewriting" option (which is the setting the site had before migrating), only homepage works, every other page results in 404. If I turn both options on, all pages work except when I try to access articles from homepage - in that case, the page itselfs open, but no CSS, images or other static files work, because they have the name of the article category prepended to their urls like this:

http://joomlasite.example/16-main-page/ ... s/Logo.jpg

instead of:

http://joomlasite.example/images/banners/Logo.jpg

I have noticed that all the articles actually have this URL:

http://joomlasite.example/%category%/%article%

but when I remove the %category% part, the URL still works and static files are loaded fine. I have no idea why the category gets prepended to the URL of static files.