Installation in subdomain - 403 error

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum. Note: Users creating new sites can use either version 2.5 or 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Cherchez
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Installation in subdomain - 403 error

Postby Cherchez » Sat Jan 06, 2018 4:11 pm

There seem to be several threads in this area - but I still can't fathom this out.

Problem: When I browse to my sub-domain at http://subdomain.maindomain.org/ I get the following error:

"Forbidden
You don't have permission to access / on this server.
Additionally, a 403 Forbidden error was encountered while trying to use an ErrorDocument to handle the request."

Here's how I've set things up:
CPanel shows the document root for subdomain.maindomain.org as /public_html/Subdomain
I've not set up any redirection
I've got the following folder on my site: /public_html/Subdomain
I've actually loaded a Joomla quickstart package there, but when I browse to subdomain.maindomain.org I get the error above.

This seems simple enough, but I can't see what's wrong. I don't know whether it's anything to do with it, but htaccess.txt has the following line:

Code: Select all

# RewriteBase /

AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: Installation in subdomain - 403 error

Postby AMurray » Sat Jan 06, 2018 9:17 pm

Does browsing to the folder normally work? i.e. try browsing to yourmaindomain.com/subdomain rather than subdomain.maindomain.com just to see if you can access the sub-folder in the normal way.