Problems Installing a localhost (XAMPP) Installion of Joomla 3.x with 2 MySQL servers

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
robatbentley
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Problems Installing a localhost (XAMPP) Installion of Joomla 3.x with 2 MySQL servers

Post by robatbentley » Wed Jan 10, 2018 3:59 pm

I've been building Joomla sites for a few years but kept it simple with a single instance of XAMPP MySQL server in my localhost development setup. However, I've moved from this to a dual MySQL server config. i.e. My current config is where I have a MySQL server (from Microsoft) for various apps (such as MediaPortal etc) and a seperate MySQL server (from XAMPP) to support my Joomla development installations. I currently have the 2 MySQL servers running, and the XAMPP workaround (details available on request) seems to be working but using port 3308 for the XAMPP MySQL server.

I guess this is not a good setup to go with as it's been somewhat complicated to get to this point, but the main problem I'm now having is that I'm unable to install a new Joomla 3.x localhost site as it complains that it's unable to connect to the MySQL server with
Error Could not connect to the database. Connector returned number: Could not connect to MySQL server.
My problem is that I don't know how to point the Joomla installation to the XAMPP version of MySQL server. I assume that it's pointing to the other server without any configured Joomla database or user.