move from local server to online server

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum. Note: Users creating new sites can use either version 2.5 or 3.x. Please consider the availability of third-party templates and extensions when deciding which Joomla version to use.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
bevco
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

move from local server to online server

Postby bevco » Sat Jan 20, 2018 11:12 pm

My site is working fine on my local server but when we use Akeeba and kickstart to move it to the online server, we get a blank administrator page with an icon at the top. The front end looks fine.

We tried upgrading online from 3.7.5 to 3.8.3 but could not get it to work - kept getting a message that could not write to xxxx file over and over with different files each time. However, I was able to upgrade on local server but now cannot get it online.

What can be the problem and what do I do now??

Thanks!
Bev
Bev
Mt Garfield Software

AMurray
Joomla! Virtuoso
Joomla! Virtuoso

Re: move from local server to online server

Postby AMurray » Sun Jan 21, 2018 12:03 am

Using Kickstart and Akeeba should be painless....but these resources may also assist: https://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_websi ... emote_host and also https://docs.joomla.org/Copying_a_Joomla_website

The "cannot write to file" sounds like a permissions issue. Therefore, can you please use the FPA Reporting tool and post the results to this discussion. Download the tool here: viewtopic.php?f=621&t=582860.

The report will give us info on your server environment (the live site).
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray