Have to add the index.php to the end of the url to avoid the 403 error Topic is solved

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
BZone
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Have to add the index.php to the end of the url to avoid the 403 error

Post by BZone » Fri Aug 17, 2018 11:25 pm

I am having the same problem after a new installation in a subdirectory. I have to add the index.php to the end of the url to avoid the above 403 error. I have never had this happen before on the many installations I have performed. Is there a setting in the php.ini file that needs to be set perhaps?
Last edited by imanickam on Sat Aug 18, 2018 5:15 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Split from the topic https://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=707&t=964678. In the future, for your issues, please create separate topics.

sozzled
I've been banned!

Re: 403 Forbidden Message

Post by sozzled » Sat Aug 18, 2018 3:00 am

BZone wrote:
Fri Aug 17, 2018 11:25 pm
I am having the same problem after a new installation in a subdirectory
A subdirectory of what? Are you saying that you've created a new J! website within an existing J! website (as a subdirectory residing within the file system of another J! website)? Is that what you're saying?

Have you made allowance for this new installation, created as a subdirectory under another J! website, to modify the .htaccess file as recommended in the J! documentation?