Quickstart Installation Issue on Localhost

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
kapsmax
Joomla! Intern
Joomla! Intern

Quickstart Installation Issue on Localhost

Post by kapsmax » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:24 am

Hello, this is Kapil. I am facing an issue for quickstart template installation. I am taking following steps:

1. Xampp service is on.
2. Created website folder in htdocs
3. extracted quickstart template in the folder
4. created database in phpmyadmin
5. when i am going to joomla web installer it is still taking me back to the standard joomla template

I am not able to install the quickstart template. Please help. Am I missing any step or making any mistake?

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Quickstart Installation Issue on Localhost

Post by AMurray » Tue Jan 01, 2019 6:33 am

What do you mean "taking you to the standard joomla template"? There shouldn't be a template, before you actually install Joomla. Note quick-start package includes joomla, not something you install into an existing joomla site.

it would help to know what template or package you're trying to install and where you downloaded it.

You would start the install, same as normal, browsing to www.yoursite.com/install. This should start the installation and it should look like the standard installer screen, nothing really different about that.

For Quickstart packages, you have to start this as if it's a clean install.