Trying to install Joomla, can't get past first step (Configuration) never takes me to Database step

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
teckel
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Trying to install Joomla, can't get past first step (Configuration) never takes me to Database step

Post by teckel » Sun May 05, 2019 3:02 am

I've created database for Joomla and installed Joomla 3.9.5. I visit the web installer and it shows the proper first page with the first step being the Configuration. I enter the site name, email, username, password (twice), and hit Next. The screen flashes the Joomla logo in the center and returns to the form at the same point. It never proceeds to the Database step.

I've tried all kinds of suggestions and nothing works. This server is already running another version of Joomla so I know the PHP/database/etc. is setup correctly. I've also setup Joomla many times before but never had a problem. I'm stuck :(

Server Info:
Platform Amazon AWS Linux
MySQL Version 5.6.34
PHP Version 5.3.29
Web Server Apache/2.2.31 (Amazon)

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Trying to install Joomla, can't get past first step (Configuration) never takes me to Database step

Post by AMurray » Sun May 05, 2019 4:38 am

I would first be more concerned that you're running an out of date, obsolete PHP version 5.3.34 (5.3.x reached EOL August 2014.....https://www.php.net/eol.php)

It's recommended you use PHP 7.2 or higher and Joomla 4 when it comes out (at this stage seems like end of 2019), it won't run on less than PHP 7.