[SOLVED] Could not open archive part file and JInstaller: :Install: Can't find XML setup file.

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
LukeDouglas
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

[SOLVED] Could not open archive part file and JInstaller: :Install: Can't find XML setup file.

Post by LukeDouglas » Tue Jun 11, 2019 8:38 pm

For the record, I have updated all of my client websites for new Joomla updates multiple times over the years with none of these issues.

So I tried to update Joomla on multiple websites via Joomla Update component and got this error message:

Code: Select all

ERROR:
Could not open archive part file WEBSITEFOLDER/Joomla_3.9.8-Stable-Update_Package.zip for reading.  Check that the file exists, is readable by the server and is not in a directory made out of reacy by chroot open_basedir restrictions or any other restriction put in place by your host.
So I downloaded the update patch file to install and got this error message:

JInstaller: :Install: Can't find XML setup file.
The Joomla package cannot be installed through the Extension Manager. Please use the Joomla! Update component to update Joomla.
I attempted install via 'Install from URL' using this URL https://downloads.joomla.org/cms/joomla ... ackage.zip and got the same error message as above.''

I attempted using the Upload & Update but got the same error message as above.

I uploaded the Joomla package update to the 'tmp' folder in the website root and attempted to install via URL and got this error message:

Error
Please enter a package folder.
Unable to find install package
So basically I can't update Joomla. What can I do?