Issues installing Joomla 3.x on Windows Server 2016

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderators: General Support Moderators, General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
hockeyfan28
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Issues installing Joomla 3.x on Windows Server 2016

Post by hockeyfan28 » Mon Jan 04, 2021 12:12 am

Doing some learning on my own and have had extreme difficulty getting Joomla to install on Windows Server 2016. For sense of where I started, I ran through steps on the link below with the exception of installing MySQL on a separate internal server as opposed to installing on the same host as the web server.

https://websiteforstudents.com/install- ... p-support/

Have used various combinations of XAMPP Control Panel (both 8.0 package & 7.4.13) and a stable Joomla release, both 3.9.23 and 3.9.20 and encounter the same issue that I am hamstrung on. Each package of XAMPP that I have tested with has both the newest PHP version 8.00 or the the more established prior version to ensure the newest PHP does not have compatibility issues.