"Connection was reset" when installing with Docker on localhost

Need help installing Joomla! 3.x? For all Joomla! 3.x installation issues please use this forum.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10
joeac
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

"Connection was reset" when installing with Docker on localhost

Post by joeac » Sun Sep 25, 2022 6:13 pm

Dear kind helpers,

I'm trying to install Joomla! 3.x on my computer inside a Docker container, but when I run Joomla! and try to use my browser (Firefox) to navigate to the installation page on my chosen port on localhost, I get an error page saying "The connection was reset".

In order, I'm running these commands in Windows PowerShell (as an administrator).

1. I navigate to the folder where Joopla! 3.10.11 is installed.

Code: Select all

cd [JOOPLA INSTALL DIR]
2. I create a Docker network so that, when I make a MySQL database, Joopla! will be able to talk to it.

docker network create joopla-network
3. I create a Docker volume so the MySQL database will have somewhere to live.

docker volume create joopla-vol
4. I start up the MySQL database in a new Docker container, connect it to the network, and give it the network alias `joomla-mysql`.

docker run -d `
>> -v joomla-vol:/var/lib/mysql `
>> --network joomla-network --network-alias joomla-mysql `
>> -e MYSQL_ROOT_PASSWORD=secret `
>> -e MYSQL_ROOT_USER=root `
>> -e MYSQL_DATABASE=joomla_db `
>> mysql:5.7
5. Finally, I run Joopla! 3.10 on localhost, port 3000.

docker run -d `
>> -p 3000:3000 `
>> -v joomla-vol:/var/www/html `
>> --network joomla-network `
>> --hostname localhost `
>> -e JOOMLA_DB_HOST=joomla-mysql `
>> -e JOOMLA_DB_USER=root `
>> -e JOOMLA_DB_PASSWORD=secret `