Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Mon Jun 19, 2017 12:19 pm

I have a strange combination of symptoms:

1) The top of the Control Panel shows the notification that 3.7.2 is available. (I'm on 3.6.2)
2) If I click on Update Now I get Error 404 Component Not Found.
3) If I click on Extensions / Manage / Update I'm told that no updates are available.
4) Clearing the cache from that screen makes no difference.

Any ideas on how I can correct this?

User avatar
bluesardine
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Cornwall
Contact:

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bluesardine » Mon Jun 19, 2017 2:01 pm

Have you tried by uploading from file rather than seeing the update and pressing update?

So download the update to your computer then browse and upload that method.

regards Pete
Web design Cornwall https://www.swankypixels.com
Landscape Photographer http://www.peterhaken.com

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Mon Jun 19, 2017 3:44 pm

Yeah, Pete, when I try that I get a warning that "The Joomla package cannot be installed through the Extension Manager. Please use the Joomla! Update component to update Joomla." But clicking on Joomla! Update takes me back to the 404 Component not found error.

User avatar
bluesardine
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Cornwall
Contact:

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bluesardine » Mon Jun 19, 2017 4:40 pm

if you go to tab upload from file then back to updates do you get reinstall core files?
Web design Cornwall https://www.swankypixels.com
Landscape Photographer http://www.peterhaken.com

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:00 pm

No, I haven't seen that message. Update always says there aren't any updates available.

User avatar
bluesardine
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 449
Joined: Fri Nov 16, 2007 10:49 pm
Location: Cornwall
Contact:

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bluesardine » Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:37 pm

If I click check for updates it should then let you reinstall core files.

Could be permissions or tmp file name..?

Try Adding Admin Took by Akeeba, think there is a free option, with akeeba admin tools you can check permissions, cleand database, check temp files.

regards pete
Web design Cornwall https://www.swankypixels.com
Landscape Photographer http://www.peterhaken.com

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 32761
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby Webdongle » Mon Jun 19, 2017 6:55 pm

Member of Joomla bugsquad
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Mon Jun 19, 2017 8:15 pm

It looks like the problem may be because of I how I created this one. The old site was on very old stuff, so I created a new VM with updated versions of Ubuntu, PHP, and mySQL. I installed Joomla 3.7.2, but then copied the old site over it and populated a new database by importing the old tables. Checking Extensions -> Database reports:

Database schema version (3.6.0-2016-06-05) does not match CMS version (3.7.0-2017-04-19).
Table 'v2014_newsfeeds' does not have column 'link' with type VARCHAR(2048). (From file 3.6.3-2016-08-15.sql.)
Table 'v2014_fields' does not exist. (From file 3.7.0-2016-08-29.sql.)
Table 'v2014_fields_categories' does not exist. (From file 3.7.0-2016-08-29.sql.)
Table 'v2014_fields_groups' does not exist. (From file 3.7.0-2016-08-29.sql.)
Table 'v2014_fields_values' does not exist. (From file 3.7.0-2016-08-29.sql.)
Table 'v2014_menu_types' does not have column 'client_id'. (From file 3.7.0-2016-11-19.sql.)
Table 'v2014_languages' should not have index 'idx_image'. (From file 3.7.0-2016-11-21.sql.)
Table 'v2014_extensions' does not have column 'package_id'. (From file 3.7.0-2016-11-24.sql.)
Table 'v2014_contact_details' does not have column 'language' with type varchar(7). (From file 3.7.0-2017-02-17.sql.)
Table 'v2014_languages' does not have column 'asset_id' with type int(10) unsigned. (From file 3.7.0-2017-03-03.sql.)
Table 'v2014_menu_types' does not have column 'asset_id' with type int(10) unsigned. (From file 3.7.0-2017-03-03.sql.)
Table 'v2014_finder_links' does not have column 'description' with type text;. (From file 3.7.0-2017-03-19.sql.)

So is there a way to update the database from 3.6 to 3.7 by itself?

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 32761
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby Webdongle » Mon Jun 19, 2017 9:13 pm

On localhost (or in a subfolder)
Install Joomla 3.6 to a new database
Create an empty database and export/import the site database to it
Edit the configuration.php to connect to the database that has the site data in it.

If it won't update try Discover and that should put the extensions into the database then you can update. You can then use that database to replace the one on the server (or if you are working in a subfolder on the server then just delete the files from that subfolder.

You can use a similar method to rebuild your site. Once you have your database up to date ... install a separate 3.7.2 and install your 3rd party extensions in to it. You then have a set of fresh up to date files to connect to your updated database.

It is best done on localhost ... that way you can 'clean' the server and upload your rebuilt site. It also eliminates any hack files that may be on server if you delete all the files before uploading the rebuilt site.
Member of Joomla bugsquad
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Tue Jun 20, 2017 12:03 pm

I'll give that a try, webdongle. Thanks!

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 32761
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby Webdongle » Tue Jun 20, 2017 11:11 pm

It's a bit like the logic of the Tower of Brahma
Member of Joomla bugsquad
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:03 pm

No, Brahma actually makes sense to me.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 32761
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby Webdongle » Wed Jun 21, 2017 12:33 pm

Then the logic of which files to connect to which database should be easy for you to work out.

Install a fresh Joomla of the same version as the live site
Use the fresh files to connect to a database that has the data of the live site
Update the database (that has the data of the live site) with the fresh files

Install the latest version of Joomla
Install your 3rd party extensions into the new Joomla
You now have fresh Joomla and 3rd party extension files to connect to your updated database (that has the data of the live site)
Member of Joomla bugsquad
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Wed Jun 21, 2017 1:25 pm

Yeah, I know that's the most straightforward way. But this particular site is one I inherited with lots of customizations of the extensions and template, and I was really hoping to not have to work through all of that by rebuilding from scratch. <honesty warning>Your method is perfectly sound...I'm just looking for a lazier way to get there.</honesty>

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 32761
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby Webdongle » Wed Jun 21, 2017 3:45 pm

The extensions that you customised ... why not just copy those files to the rebuilt site ?

Extensions >>> Manage >>> Discover ... might find core Joomla files that are not registered in the database ;)
Member of Joomla bugsquad
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Thu Jun 22, 2017 12:26 pm

Unfortunately there's nothing left in Discover either. But you're right about the extensions... maybe the rebuild won't be quite as tedious as I'm fearing.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 32761
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby Webdongle » Thu Jun 22, 2017 2:04 pm

bproffit wrote:..... maybe the rebuild won't be quite as tedious as I'm fearing.

On localhost
Install J3.6.2 .............................................................................................................. 2 mins
Export your site database and import into a new empty database then edit the configuration.php file .. 2 mins
Update ..................................................................................................................... 2 mins

Install J3.7.2 .............................................................................................................. 2 mins
Download and install compatible 3rd party extensions ............................................................ 20 mins
Edit the configuration.php .............................................................................................. 1 min


I have messed my site up that many times and tried all ways to repair it. But in the end the above method (I have found) is the quickest and less fiddly than any other.
Member of Joomla bugsquad
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:04 pm

Well, I was adding at the top of the list:

Create new VM
Install Ubuntu LAMP

because I wanted to put it on an updated PHP and MySQL and bring the database local, but I think I'll follow your track and get a stable site first and then worry about the rest.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 32761
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby Webdongle » Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:29 pm

Is that PC with Ubuntu Operating system ?
Member of Joomla bugsquad
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Thu Jun 22, 2017 4:50 pm

Yeah, it's on 14.04 right now, and I want to move to 16.04 while I'm at it. As well as moving up to PHP 7.0.

User avatar
Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master
Posts: 32761
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 9:58 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby Webdongle » Thu Jun 22, 2017 6:36 pm

Member of Joomla bugsquad
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/

bproffit
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 10:14 pm

Re: Control Panel says 3.7.2 available; update says Component Not Found

Postby bproffit » Thu Jun 22, 2017 8:14 pm

You know, that's not a bad idea. I've been too much a creature of habit, and it may well be that xampp is smarter/easier!


Return to “Administration Joomla! 3.x”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests