Migration problem

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Post Reply
Spejsi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:40 pm

Migration problem

Post by Spejsi » Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:14 pm

Hello,

I have been migrating the site from one host to another. It was Joomla 3.9 (I think).
Now, I have restored the database using cpanel restore option.
Then I have copied all backed up joomla files.

Now, when starting front end, the site automaticaly gives me download screen to download the file named `download`. When opened in notepad it gives this text:

<?php
/**
* @package Joomla.Administrator
*
* @copyright Copyright (C) 2005 - 2020 Open Source Matters, Inc. All rights reserved.
* @license GNU General Public License version 2 or later; see LICENSE.txt
*/

/**
* Define the application's minimum supported PHP version as a constant so it can be referenced within the application.
*/
define('JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP', '5.3.10');

if (version_compare(PHP_VERSION, JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP, '<'))
{
die('Your host needs to use PHP ' . JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP . ' or higher to run this version of Joomla!');
}

// Saves the start time and memory usage.
$startTime = microtime(1);
$startMem = memory_get_usage();

/**
* Constant that is checked in included files to prevent direct access.
* define() is used in the installation folder rather than "const" to not error for PHP 5.2 and lower
*/
define('_JEXEC', 1);

if (file_exists(__DIR__ . '/defines.php'))
{
include_once __DIR__ . '/defines.php';
}

if (!defined('_JDEFINES'))
{
define('JPATH_BASE', __DIR__);
require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/defines.php';
}

require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/framework.php';
require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/helper.php';
require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/subtoolbar.php';

// Set profiler start time and memory usage and mark afterLoad in the profiler.
JDEBUG ? JProfiler::getInstance('Application')->setStart($startTime, $startMem)->mark('afterLoad') : null;

// Instantiate the application.
$app = JFactory::getApplication('administrator');

// Execute the application.
$app->execute();




I have checked and my new host php version is 7.3 (as was the old site).
The site gives the same download file when trying to access backend.

Please let me know if you have any ideas what to do.

Thank you!

User avatar
Rondeb
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer
Posts: 330
Joined: Mon Dec 02, 2013 12:14 pm
Location: Meschede - Germany
Contact:

Re: Migration problem

Post by Rondeb » Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:43 pm

Hello,

can you not transfer the site with akeeba backup?

Greetings Ron :)

Spejsi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: Migration problem

Post by Spejsi » Wed Apr 14, 2021 9:06 pm

Rondeb wrote:
Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:43 pm
Hello,

can you not transfer the site with akeeba backup?

Greetings Ron :)
Not at this point, I have changed the DNS records and can not access the backend of the old site. I can only `take` the files...

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6669
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Migration problem

Post by AMurray » Wed Apr 14, 2021 9:24 pm

Your server appears not to be interpreting PHP code, but simply treating it as a text file (hence the file opens, rather than executing).

Running the FPA report (as requested, in the red box top of screen) will confirm what version you have.
https://forumpostassistant.github.io/docs/

Please post the report's output to a reply on the forum; the utility outputs the joomla and server information formatted suitably for this forum environment.
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Help you I can, yes!. Post your question, you should. Keep it on topic you must!
Use the Forc....Forum Post Assistant my young Padawan!

Spejsi
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:40 pm

Re: Migration problem

Post by Spejsi » Wed Apr 14, 2021 9:35 pm

AMurray wrote:
Wed Apr 14, 2021 9:24 pm
Your server appears not to be interpreting PHP code, but simply treating it as a text file (hence the file opens, rather than executing).

Running the FPA report (as requested, in the red box top of screen) will confirm what version you have.
https://forumpostassistant.github.io/docs/

Please post the report's output to a reply on the forum; the utility outputs the joomla and server information formatted suitably for this forum environment.
Hi, I did as suggested on the site, but again, my website downloads the php file instead of reading it.

User avatar
AMurray
Joomla! Champion
Joomla! Champion
Posts: 6669
Joined: Sat Feb 13, 2010 7:35 am
Location: Australia

Re: Migration problem

Post by AMurray » Thu Apr 15, 2021 10:14 pm

OK so that would confirm your server's not configured properly, if it can't run any PHP file (not just Joomla).

You need to contact your web host.

(In hindsight, I should have realised what I was saying, in my original response above....running the FPA script would not have worked if PHP is not set up on your server....)
Regards,
--------------------------------------------------------------
A Murray
Help you I can, yes!. Post your question, you should. Keep it on topic you must!
Use the Forc....Forum Post Assistant my young Padawan!


Post Reply

Return to “Administration Joomla! 3.x”