My website keeps timing out with 503 errors and my webhost is telling me to table to convert the table to InnoDB?

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Forsh
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

My website keeps timing out with 503 errors and my webhost is telling me to table to convert the table to InnoDB?

Post by Forsh » Sun Nov 05, 2023 9:05 pm

It has come to our attention that the 'xxxxxxxxxxxx table of the 'xxxxxxxxxxx' database gets locked too often. We suggest converting this table to the InnoDB database engine. You may use this guide as a reference: https://phoenixnap.com/kb/myisam-vs-inn ... heading-17

At the moment, you have the MyISAM database engine for your table - that means that each time this table gets updated, it gets locked and other DB queries should wait till the table gets unlocked. After converting your table to InnoDB, all database queries to this table will not have to wait till the table gets unlocked because, unlike MyISAM, Innodb has row-level locking.

As a result, the web requests will not get stacked due to the frozen DB queries and the requests will get processed significantly quicker.
Never done anything like this before, could someone help me understand if I really need to do this and is this hard to do if so?

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: My website keeps timing out with 503 errors and my webhost is telling me to table to convert the table to InnoDB?

Post by AMurray » Sun Nov 05, 2023 9:46 pm