Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
Locked
akilshaw
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:23 pm

Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by akilshaw » Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:33 pm

The new Joomla 3.0 has the option to give the user a horizontal menu, well I have tried this using the (space)nav-pills and without a space but my menu still shows as a list menu am I doing something wrong, please help 2 days of testing trying has been enough :(, also the modules are set correctly to my articles and I have tried a number of things to try get the menu to align next to each other in a horizontal mode,

Image is attached

regards
Adam
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

akilshaw
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:23 pm

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by akilshaw » Thu Feb 07, 2013 9:47 pm

214 views and still no answers after 3 hours damn its not like the fast food service eh

npetrovic
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2013 4:31 pm
Location: Belgrade,Serbia

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by npetrovic » Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:43 pm

Click on Menu's > Main Menu Menager

It will open new page and you will see on right end "Linked Modules" menu.
Click on it and it will open menu where you will see sub-menu named "Position"

There you can assign position of your main menu and there is option for horizontal or vertical menu's ;)

Potus001
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru
Posts: 586
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2010 9:38 am

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by Potus001 » Wed May 22, 2013 7:17 am

akilshaw wrote:214 views and still no answers after 3 hours damn its not like the fast food service eh
Nah, that's the problem.

They're all volunteeers so you'll have to be patient.

I use Artisteer to make my templates.

Try Siteground. They have some free templates with horizontal menus.

kh1957
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 14, 2013 8:59 am

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by kh1957 » Sun Jul 14, 2013 9:01 am

Try putting a space before "nav-pills"
Don't know why ... but it worked for me.
The only problem now is that I can't work out how to display sub-menu items with the horozontal menu.

nic_86
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:20 pm

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by nic_86 » Wed Jul 17, 2013 5:33 pm

display sub-menu on the homepage:

1) in the back-end in the navigation bar click on Menus --> Main Menu
2) in the left side click on "Menus"
3) in the column "Linked Modules" click on combo box "Modules" then option "Main Menu"
4) click on tab "Options"
5) "Show Sub-menu Items" click on "Yes"

simonjshaw
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jul 26, 2013 10:57 am

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by simonjshaw » Fri Jul 26, 2013 11:00 am

In answer to the original question, I had the same problem, till I realised I'd put nav-pills (space before IS required) into the "module class suffix" field not the "menu class suffix" field where it ought to be!
Hope that helps someone.

exobytes
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:53 am

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by exobytes » Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:59 am

that's right, just add <space> before your write down nav-pills

" nav-pills"

without quotes

ceciliasp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:23 pm

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by ceciliasp » Mon Jan 13, 2014 7:13 pm

Hi, I've followed the instructions to add the SPACE nav-pills but I can`t make the menu to show horizontally.
I`ve placed the menu in the postion-1.

I really don`t know what can be the problem
.

Thanks

ncireland
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Jun 01, 2012 3:38 pm

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by ncireland » Fri Jan 17, 2014 10:06 am

I've managed this by selecting position-1 for the menu module, with Menu Class Suffix of " nav-pills" and Module Class Suffix of "_menu".

(omit "'s)

HTH

ceciliasp
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 8:23 pm

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by ceciliasp » Sun Jan 19, 2014 6:04 pm

ncireland wrote:I've managed this by selecting position-1 for the menu module, with Menu Class Suffix of " nav-pills" and Module Class Suffix of "_menu".

(omit "'s)

HTH
Thanks... that worked!

CrandellWS
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:10 pm

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by CrandellWS » Mon Feb 17, 2014 6:18 pm

A pull request can be found here https://github.com/joomla/joomla-cms/pull/3138

In the main Joomla source find
/modules/mod_menu/tmpl/default.php
Line 15

Code: Select all

 // Note. It is important to remove spaces between elements.
  ?>
  <?php // The menu class is deprecated. Use nav instead. ?>
-<ul class="nav menu<?php echo $class_sfx;?>"<?php

Code: Select all

 
 +<ul class="nav menu <?php echo $class_sfx;?>"<?php
  	$tag = '';
  
  	if ($params->get('tag_id') != null)

yohebon
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Sep 03, 2013 5:15 am

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by yohebon » Thu Feb 27, 2014 6:10 am

nic_86 wrote:display sub-menu on the homepage:

1) in the back-end in the navigation bar click on Menus --> Main Menu
2) in the left side click on "Menus"
3) in the column "Linked Modules" click on combo box "Modules" then option "Main Menu"
4) click on tab "Options"
5) "Show Sub-menu Items" click on "Yes"
I've seen this post: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=713&t=812201
My question is how can I display sub-menu in level 3/4/... place?

tutonn
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2014 11:53 am
Contact:

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by tutonn » Thu Nov 06, 2014 10:20 pm

Please find the menu item in css. Better if use firebugs. Find ul>li for menu items.
li{
display:inline}
and change it to
li{display:flex;}

Then adjust your margin and padding accordingly.

somo60
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Aug 08, 2014 1:33 pm

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by somo60 » Wed Sep 09, 2015 10:26 am

ceciliasp wrote:
ncireland wrote:I've managed this by selecting position-1 for the menu module, with Menu Class Suffix of " nav-pills" and Module Class Suffix of "_menu".

(omit "'s)

HTH
Thanks... that worked!
It works only after adding a space before nav-pills Menu Class Suffix.
Thanks.

User avatar
kimhuff
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Jul 16, 2007 6:16 am

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by kimhuff » Wed Nov 04, 2015 4:31 am

ncireland wrote:I've managed this by selecting position-1 for the menu module, with Menu Class Suffix of " nav-pills" and Module Class Suffix of "_menu".

(omit "'s)

HTH
Thank you so much! This worked GREAT!!
Regards,

Kim Huff
"Size matters not. Look at me. Judge me by my size do you?" ~ Yoda, Star Wars Empire Strikes Back

ronp5555
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling
Posts: 3
Joined: Sat Feb 09, 2013 2:38 am

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by ronp5555 » Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:50 pm

kh1957 wrote:Try putting a space before "nav-pills"
Don't know why ... but it worked for me.
The only problem now is that I can't work out how to display sub-menu items with the horozontal menu.
You are quite correct with your solution. Thanks a lot for saving me additional frustration and time. Don'l know why this has not been fixed by Joomla after 3 years!!!!

sovainfo
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar
Posts: 8808
Joined: Sat Oct 01, 2011 7:06 pm

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by sovainfo » Thu Aug 25, 2016 4:37 pm

ronp5555 wrote:
kh1957 wrote:Try putting a space before "nav-pills"
Don't know why ... but it worked for me.
The only problem now is that I can't work out how to display sub-menu items with the horozontal menu.
You are quite correct with your solution. Thanks a lot for saving me additional frustration and time. Don'l know why this has not been fixed by Joomla after 3 years!!!!
Some people just never learn! Nothing to be fixed! There is nothing wrong!
Issue with migrating? Include logs/joomla_update.php in your report!
Blank screen? Verify pagesource for HTML code (javascript error)
Installation failing on populating database? Install with set_time_limit(0)
Document your customizations!

RuudvdM
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2017 11:21 am

Re: Horizontal Menu Protostar Template

Post by RuudvdM » Sun Jun 04, 2017 2:30 pm

go to Extension --> Modules --> Main-Menu --> field Menu class suffix : fill in 1 space followed by nav-pills : save
result : your menu will be displayed in horizontal direction : true!!


Locked

Return to “Administration Joomla! 3.x”