Missing control menu in backend

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
CamillaV
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Missing control menu in backend

Post by CamillaV » Mon May 18, 2015 8:22 am

Hi,

I can't remember if it is with the new update or the update before but I have problems with the menus in backend.
Sometimes they disappear... I thought it was because I'm using Safari but it isn't...

Now I can't use my backend at all... Please see attached image.

What to do?

Best Regards,
Camilla.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

CamillaV
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Re: Missing control menu in backend

Post by CamillaV » Mon May 18, 2015 10:22 am

SOLVED! ;D :D

For some reason the access level on some of the Administrator modules was changed to Special.
I don't know why?
Any suggestions?

I had to change access level in my database in phpmyadmin.

Find xxx_modules --> xxx_toolbar and set the access level for example to 1 (it is public)

Then log in to your administrator panel in your Joomla page.
Maybe you can find the URL for module manager in your history.
Display the modules for your Administrator panel and see which access level the modules have. Set it to the same level as your account (Super Users).

Now you should be able to see the menus again!

Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Missing control menu in backend

Post by Webdongle » Mon May 18, 2015 11:12 am

CamillaV wrote:...
For some reason the access level on some of the Administrator modules was changed to Special....