JAuthentication: :__construct: Could not load authentication

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
LukeDouglas
Joomla! Enthusiast
Joomla! Enthusiast

JAuthentication: :__construct: Could not load authentication

Post by LukeDouglas » Sat Aug 22, 2015 7:17 am

SOLVED!! SEE BELOW.

A couple of weeks ago I got a new phone upgrade with a transfer of all data but it appears my Google Authenticator did not retain my Joomla code access for one of my websites. I didn't realize this until I attempted to log into the admin panel recently. I got this screen but didn't have a 'Secret Key'.

I did some research on workarounds and using phpMyAdmin, I set 'Enable' to '0' for the "plg_twofactorauth_totp" plugin. No luck. I did some more research and did the same thing for "plg_authentication_joomla". No luck.

I did some more research and someone said that the template might be the problem. So I change the default template, via phpMyAdmin, from the Isis template to Hanthor as well as tried on Chrome (I was using Firefox originally). Now I got the login without the 'Secret Key' window but I got a new problem after entering the 'correct' Username and Password: "JAuthentication: :__construct: Could not load authentication".

I edited the "plg_authentication_joomla" plugin to set 'Enable' back to '1' but no luck.

So I changed 'Enable' to '0' for all plugins which had 'authentication' in the description or 'two factor' type text in the description. No luck!

At this point, I've exhausted every avenue that I have researched.

Does anyone have any suggestions what I can do without have to totally rebuilt this website from scratch?

Thanks.

Luke