Creating article in front end - select category

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
ConservativeBob
Joomla! Fledgling
Joomla! Fledgling

Creating article in front end - select category

Post by ConservativeBob » Tue Nov 21, 2017 8:13 pm

Hello

I have a problem with how to enable a front end user to select a category when creating an article.

The menu structure is for Category List. When the user attempts to create a new document, the 'Category' drop down, under Publishing, is disabled.
Category dropdown.JPG
Is there a way to enable the dropdown so that a user can select a category?

Thank you.

Bob
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Re: Creating article in front end - select category

Post by AMurray » Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:41 pm

Would it depend if you have created the categories, in order to be listed in that drop-down; I mean, have you created the categories in the Administrator?

The behaviour above I would expect if there was only the one category "Home Page News" but if there were others to choose from that drop-down should be active.

Can you provide a screen-shot of the category list in the back-end, just to confirm what I am saying, that you have more than one category to choose from - and that they are all published.

[EDIT] I can't replicate the issue - I can select the category as I would expect to be able to.

What Joomla version do you use, and what editor?
Regards - A Murray
General Support Moderator

AMurray
Joomla! Exemplar
Joomla! Exemplar

Post by AMurray » Tue Nov 21, 2017 9:51 pm