Automatic 301 redirect for unpublished category articles

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
GillianBPP
Joomla! Explorer
Joomla! Explorer

Automatic 301 redirect for unpublished category articles

Post by GillianBPP » Thu Nov 23, 2017 4:28 pm

I manage the backend of a church website where the weekly notes are on view on a category blog page for four weeks, after which they are unpublished and expired.

This means that anyone trying to access an old article will instead get a 404 page returned unless I go on the website every week and set up a redirect for each article, which I really don't want to have to do.

Is there a way to tell Joomla that when an article is unpublished from category A that a 301 redirect can be set up automatically to a specific menu item A and if an article with category B is unpublished a 301 redirect is set up to menu item B, etc?

Could it be done in .htaccess for expired articles in a specific category but without redirected published articles?

Thanks for any suggestions.

Webdongle
Joomla! Master
Joomla! Master

Re: Automatic 301 redirect for unpublished category articles

Post by Webdongle » Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:29 pm

How are they trying to access an unpublished Article ? Perhaps it might be easier to rethink your navigation ?
http://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/
https://www.weblinksonline.co.uk/updating-joomla.html
"When I'm right no one remembers but when I'm wrong no one forgets".

sozzled
I've been banned!

Post by sozzled » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:06 pm