Menu issues

Need help with the Administration of your Joomla! 3.x site? This is the spot for you.

Moderator: General Support Moderators

Forum rules
Forum Rules
Absolute Beginner's Guide to Joomla! <-- please read before posting, this means YOU.
Forum Post Assistant - If you are serious about wanting help, you will use this tool to help you post.
Windows Defender SmartScreen Issues <-- please read this if using Windows 10.
edform
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Menu issues

Post by edform » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:37 pm

Having built a system to call 365 daily articles by month and then by day, I ran into menu issues.

I thought at first I'd simply have a two level menu with the first level choosing one of the 12 months and the second level listing the 28-31 days in each month, but that doesn't work - the menu becomes enormous when displayed on smartphones.

After a lot of hassle I slimmed the menu down to a 12 month first level choice, each item of which calls a page with a table of numbers for the days and each number in the tables conceals a link to the correct page from the set of 365.

Then I found that the Joomla 3.xx main menu is bad on touch-enabled devices anyway - menus disappear before you get the chance to select an item from them.

I've tried several alternative menus that do offer delayed closure of opened menus but they all have a big problem - the Link Type/Display in menu setting does not work, whereas it works perfectly in the built in menu.

Is it possible to introduce a dropdown dwell time into the operation of the standard menu system?

Ed Form

effrit
Joomla! Guru
Joomla! Guru

Re: Menu issues

Post by effrit » Thu Dec 07, 2017 9:51 pm

there is no "standard menu system" because each template have own styles.
is it Protostar or Beez?

edform
Joomla! Apprentice
Joomla! Apprentice

Post by edform » Thu Dec 07, 2017 10:14 pm

effrit wrote:there is no "standard menu system" because each template have own styles.
is it Protostar or Beez?