Page 1 of 1

Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:19 pm
by thenoobted
Hi ,

I have to do a project for my school but there is the catch ...i didnt had the time,i am working 8h a day and i think i was lazy beside other problems .
Talked with a colegue of mine, he did send me his project, he created a template from 0 , i tried to install it, all done , no errors but it doesnt show up as it shoud .

He has his project up and running on a private ftp .
I just wanted to see how it works and after that to create my own project .

Installed xampp, apache and mysql is up and running .
installed latest version of joomla.
Imported .sql in phpmyadmin, but i cant connect to it or i`m not using the right credentials .
I did check all the privileges and they are all granted .

I dont know what else to do regarding this and i`m in a rush .
If anyone is available , i could upload the files, and maybe someone will give it a shot, and tell me where im doing it wrong .

more info : it`s a simple template, as a company that is selling some products .

Best regards .

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:27 pm
by gws
When you installed joomla, did you create a database or did joomla create it for you?
What was the imported sql file?

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:39 pm
by thenoobted
Joomla created : bitnami_joomla , all nice and good, i can configure joomla to connect to it, and it says :
Message
Configuration saved.

I have my mysql dump named as : mbednarek233-db2.sql, i did archive and now is : mbednarek233-db2.sql.zip
I did create in phpmyadmin the database : mbednarek233-db2, imported mbednarek233-db2.sql.zip, all good .
I did set as default my template, but it s not showing the menu, only the colours and the main .jpg .

after that I see the default message from joomla :

Getting Started

Joomla

It's easy to get started creating your website. Knowing some of the basics will help.
What is a Content Management System?

etc .


When I try to connect to mbednarek233-db2.sql, I get :
Error
Could not connect to database.

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:50 pm
by gws
Try installing joomla manually,ie download from joomla.org and create a test DB and use that. If all is working fine then import the template and install that.See what happens. ps a template is what makes the site's visual experience, it does not contain articles,products etc, is this what you mean when you say Template?

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:55 pm
by thenoobted
I will do that right away .
Thanks, i will keep you posted .

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:23 pm
by thenoobted
gws : this template is already created with menu and products and everything else .
It was created from 0 by a colleague .


UPDATE :

1st PIC it how i see it :
1.png
2nd PIC its how it should be :
Capture.PNG
I dont know what to do next ...

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:27 pm
by gws
You are confusing the term Template, in joomla the template is what gives the site its visual look. I guess you are saying, The whole site was created by your friend. Is this correct?

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:39 pm
by thenoobted
yes , you are right , it was created by my friend and i`m trying to load it to see how it was made so I can start my own but ...

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:47 pm
by gws
OK, you are trying to install a built site from someone else (Not Template in joomla talk). By far the easiest way to do this is to get your friend to install Akeeba backup,make a backup and send you the .jpa file that will be found via ftp in the /public_html/administrator/components/com_akeeba/backup folder of your friends site. When you have this file upload it to the root of your server, obtain "kickstart.php " from akeeba (its all free),upload the kickstart.php to your root of the server and then type localhost/kickstart.php in your browser and follow the on screen instructions and you will have a working copy of your friends site on your computer. NOTE kickstart.php is sometimes called akickstart.php.
Akeeba https://www.akeebabackup.com/

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2018 5:57 pm
by gws
Good luck, I have to go now.

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:21 pm
by thenoobted2
Hi gws .

I did as u told me to, all went smooth without errors but now when i try to acces the frontend site, It redirects me on : http://localhost/dashboard/ and it`s showing the xampp default page ...

Any advice ?

thanks .

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Thu Mar 08, 2018 8:27 pm
by gws
You probably have a index.html in your root folder ,if so delete it.

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:30 pm
by thenoobted2
I only have index.php with this inside :

Code: Select all

if (!empty($_SERVER['HTTPS']) && ('on' == $_SERVER['HTTPS'])) {
		$uri = 'https://';
	} else {
		$uri = 'http://';
	}
	$uri .= $_SERVER['HTTP_HOST'];
	header('Location: '.$uri.'/dashboard/');
	exit;
?>
Something is wrong with the XAMPP installation :-(
and an index2.php with this inside :

Code: Select all

<?php
/**
 * @package    Joomla.Site
 *
 * @copyright  Copyright (C) 2005 - 2017 Open Source Matters, Inc. All rights reserved.
 * @license    GNU General Public License version 2 or later; see LICENSE.txt
 */

/**
 * Define the application's minimum supported PHP version as a constant so it can be referenced within the application.
 */
define('JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP', '5.3.10');

if (version_compare(PHP_VERSION, JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP, '<'))
{
	die('Your host needs to use PHP ' . JOOMLA_MINIMUM_PHP . ' or higher to run this version of Joomla!');
}

// Saves the start time and memory usage.
$startTime = microtime(1);
$startMem  = memory_get_usage();

/**
 * Constant that is checked in included files to prevent direct access.
 * define() is used in the installation folder rather than "const" to not error for PHP 5.2 and lower
 */
define('_JEXEC', 1);

if (file_exists(__DIR__ . '/defines.php'))
{
	include_once __DIR__ . '/defines.php';
}

if (!defined('_JDEFINES'))
{
	define('JPATH_BASE', __DIR__);
	require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/defines.php';
}

require_once JPATH_BASE . '/includes/framework.php';

// Set profiler start time and memory usage and mark afterLoad in the profiler.
JDEBUG ? JProfiler::getInstance('Application')->setStart($startTime, $startMem)->mark('afterLoad') : null;

// Instantiate the application.
$app = JFactory::getApplication('site');

// Execute the application.
$app->execute();
When I log in as administrator I see all the files and articles and stuff but no frontend side...I know i`m doing something wrong but cant see what atm :(

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:39 pm
by gws
rename index.php to index.php123 and then rename index2.php to index.php, restart xampp and see what happens.

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 1:55 pm
by thenoobted2
I did that and : The template for this display is not available. Please contact a Site administrator.

see attachament :

Maybe I should publish it or something ?the thing is the backup it s in german, and i`m not a german speaker but i can look over the english vers. and then take the necessary steps.

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Sat Mar 10, 2018 2:07 pm
by sozzled
@thenoonbted & @thenoobted2: the forum rules state
Only one account per person is permitted.
:eek:

Re: Unable to load template + DB

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2018 4:01 pm
by thenoobted2
Started form 0 to build it, but cant find how to create the menu as i need it :
Any advice ?

I need it like this on the left side .



Thanks .